PROPHETS OF RAGE Score Top 5 Debut On BILLBOARD's 'Top Rock Albums' Chart

September 9, 2016

According to Billboard, "The Party's Over", the debut EP from PROPHETS OF RAGE, the supergroup featuring members of RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE, PUBLIC ENEMY's Chuck D and CYPRESS HILL's B-Real, landed on position No. 5 on Billboard's Top Rock Albums chart with first-week sales of 7,000. The effort also entered the Hard Rock Albums chart at No. 2 and Alternative Albums chart at No. 4.

"The Party's Over" was released on August 26. The five-song effort includes the previously released, eponymous single "Prophets Of Rage" — re-imagination of the PUBLIC ENEMY track of the same name — as well as live versions of RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE's "Killing In The Name" and PUBLIC ENEMY's "Shut 'Em Down", a Republican National Convention-inspired interpretation of BEASTIE BOYS' "No Sleep 'Till Brooklyn" called "No Sleep 'Till Cleveland", and the new original "The Party's Over".

"The Party's Over" track listing:

01. Prophets Of Rage
02. The Party's Over
03. Killing In The Name (RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE cover) (live)
04. Shut 'Em Down (PUBLIC ENEMY cover) (live)
05. No Sleep 'Till Cleveland (interpretation of BEASTIE BOYS' "No Sleep 'Till Brooklyn") (live)

Even though PROPHETS OF RAGE does not feature RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE frontman Zack de la Rocha, the group plays classics like "Bulls On Parade" along with tunes by PUBLIC ENEMY and CYPRESS HILL.

"I think the music of RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE is more relevant today than it was when it was written," Morello told "And we give a lot of credit and honor to Zack at every show because his lyrics are brilliant."

In July, PROPHETS OF RAGE released the "Prophets Of Rage" single through digital download and streaming services. Featuring new music and a new original verse from B-Real, the single was recorded with legendary producer Brendan O'Brien who has done notable work with RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE and AUDIOSLAVE.

PROPHETS OF RAGE made their live debut in May in Los Angeles.


Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).