PUDDLE OF MUDD Announces 'Ubiquitous' Album, Shares 'My Baby' Single

July 11, 2023

PUDDLE OF MUDD will release a new album, "Ubiquitous", on September 8 via Pavement Entertainment. The follow-up to 2019's "Welcome To Galvania" will be available on streaming and traditional platforms worldwide.

PUDDLE OF MUDD lead singer and rhythm guitarist Wes Scantlin comments: "Fans can expect another really catchy, hooky record from PUDDLE OF MUDD."

To give everyone a preview of what's to come, PUDDLE OF MUDD has released an instant-gratification track, "My Baby", from "Ubiquitous". The song evokes an iconic grunge sound that listeners will love and chronicles just how far some people will go for rock 'n' roll.

Fans of traditional formats can order PUDDLE OF MUDD's new release on CD and vinyl. There are also special bundles available with a limited-edition t-shirt from Pavement Entertainment.

"Ubiquitous" track listing:

01. My Baby
02. Dance with Me
03. Cash & Cobain
04. Butterface
05. Candy
06. Running Out Of Time
07. Man In The Mirror
08. U Wrekd Me
09. Complication
10. California
11. Poke Out My Eyes

In a December 2022 interview with Matt Bingham of the Z93 radio station, Scantlin confirmed that he had been working with former PUDDLE OF MUDD bassist Doug Ardito and ex-PUDDLE OF MUDD guitarist Christian Stone on material for the band's upcoming LP. He said: "It's awesome, man. Those guys are just amazing, and they will always be amazing, amazing musicians and songwriters. They've actually stored so many songs that we have actually collaborated together with in the last 10, whatever, years. And I can't wait to be able to work with them and go back and forth and do a collaboration-type deal. But, fortunately, they have families and stuff. And God bless all their children and their families and everything. Families are the most important thing."

Regarding what it is about Ardito and Stone that makes their collaboration so special, Scantlin said: "They're genius. They get it. They understand a badass vibe. They get into a zone. They're just hit-making motherfuckers, man. They've got the skills to throw hits out. It's gonna be crazy, amazing music."

Two months earlier, Wes told the 96.7 KCAL-FM radio program "Wired In The Empire" that "the only thing" he did during the pandemic was "write songs and re-collaborate with Doug Ardito and Christian Stone, former bandmates of mine and brilliant musicians, man. They've been forwarding a lot of songs that are really, really freakin' amazing," he said. "And I wanna go back in the studio with [producer] John Kurzweg, who did [the] 'Come Clean' and 'Life On Display' [albums]. Yeah, I'm gonna work with him again. 'Cause that guy is the magic man — John Kurzweg, man. He's amazing. Doug Ardito, Christian Stone — just killer writers, amazing guys, amazing musicians."

Scantlin previously said that the new PUDDLE OF MUDD album was "basically pretty much done" in May 2022 in an interview with Jave Patterson of Reno's Rock 104.5 radio station. At the time, he said: "I've just gotta polish it a little bit up and revise a couple of things. I did a lot of work with Doug Ardito [and] Christian Stone that used to be playing with me and stuff like that. And they had basically saved a bunch of songs that were recorded. And I'm really happy about it. It was a little funky, but I'm glad that it was put into a musical vault. So it takes a lot of weight off my shoulders."

Wes had almost non-stop problems with the law, alcohol, finances and other issues, before claiming to have gotten sober in 2017. Scantlin said that he ended up going back to rehab and receiving treatment "because there's really nowhere else to go." He also credited his family and fans for giving him the strength to try to get better.

PUDDLE OF MUDD was formed in 1991 in Kansas City by Scantlin, the only original member still with the band. The group into the mainstream with 2001's "Come Clean", which yielded three hits — "Control", "Blurry" and "She Hates Me".

Photo credit: Chellelea Photography

Find more on Puddle of mudd
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).