March 31, 2008

Danish metallers PYRAMAZE whose current recording lineup includes ICED EARTH singer Matt Barlow have inked a deal with Locomotive Records. The group's new album, "Immortal", is scheduled for release in Europe on May 30. Release dates for other territories will be announced soon.

Commented the band: "We had quite a few good offers, but Locomotive convinced us with their enthusiasm and their willingness to walk that extra mile for the band."

"Immortal" track listing:

01. Arise
02. Year of the Phoenix (mp3 clip)
03. Ghost Light
04. Touched by the Mara
05. A Beautiful Death
06. Legacy in a Rhyme
07. Caramon's Poem (mp3 clip)
08. The Highland
09. Shadow of the Beast
10. March through an Endless Rain

"Immortal"'s vocal sessions were helmed by producer Jim Morris, who has worked with ICED EARTH on the group's last few releases. The CD was mixed by Jacob Hansen (RAUNCHY, INVOCATOR, MERCENARY).

Barlow who in December 2007 returned to front ICED EARTH as the replacement for Tim "Ripper" Owens performed on the new PYRAMAZE album but will not be able to continue on with the band in a full-time position as previously planned.

"PYRAMAZE is an extremely talented group of musicians, whose work is well known in the progressive metal community and will be in high demand in a short time," Barlow said in a statement. "I am happy to say that I will be working with them, if only in a limited term."

PYRAMAZE entered the studio on October 1, 2007 in Haderslev, Denmark to begin recording the follow-up to "Legend of the Bone Carver".

Barlow originally joined PYRAMAZE as the replacement for Lance King who left the band in November 2006.

PYRAMAZE's latest CD, "Legend of the Bone Carver", was released in 2006 via Massacre Records (Europe) and Nightmare Records (USA and Canada).

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email