REPENTANCE Feat. STUCK MOJO, Ex-SOIL Members: 'God For A Day' Music Video

August 11, 2020

Metal band REPENTANCE has released the official music video for "God For A Day", the title track of its debut album, due out September 25 via Art is War Records/Intercept Music.

REPENTANCE came together in 2018 when Shaun Glass, a veteran guitarist of SOIL, BROKEN HOPE and DIRGE WITHIN, recruited Mike Sylvester on bass and began songwriting with lead guitarist Markus Johansson of the group THEM. Robb Rivera of NONPOINT introduced STUCK MOJO frontman Robby J. Fonts and from there... REPENTANCE was born.

"It came together very naturally, which was a very cleansing experience," states Glass. "At this point in my life, I was hoping to start working and creating new music with an almost entirely new group of people and this crew organically locked into place."

"It's crazy how things happen," comments Fonts. "I was looking to start a new band since Rich [Ward] and Frank [Fontsere] are currently busy outside of STUCK MOJO [touring with FOZZY], so the timing for REPENTANCE came perfectly. One phone call later, we were stoked to get this show on the road. Shaun sent me demos, I wrote lyrics and vocals and our songs started coming together quickly."

REPENTANCE made its live stage debut by opening up for TRIVIUM. Within its short time together the band would go on to share the stage with DEVILDRIVER, JINJER, SKULL FIST, TOXIC HOLOCAUST and SACRED REICH.

In October 2018, REPENTANCE released its debut single, "Enter The Gallows", and by the end of the year, Kanky Lora, of SOULFLY and STRAIGHT LINE STITCH fame, would join the band on drums, thus solidifying this powerhouse line-up.

"The band's sound is definitely very aggressive, pummeling metal and we can't wait to share some music with everyone soon," adds Glass. "Everyone is bringing their own style to the table and the uniqueness of each is helping to shape our sound. We're creating a style that we enjoy ourselves first and foremost."

In 2019, REPENTANCE signed with Art is War Records and released the single "Only The Damned Die Young", which was recorded at Electroworks Recording with Chuck Macack (BORN OF OSIRIS, OCEANO) as well as mixed and mastered by engineer Chris Collier (PRONG, WHITESNAKE).

"You know you're onto something special when everyone connects instantly and the creativity keeps on flowing," says Fonts. "I think fans of our previous work will be in for a pleasant surprise."

Bringing the best of classic American thrash with elements of European-styled melodic death metal and a tinge of modern hardcore. This eclectic group of seasoned musicians is providing a straight punch to the face for your metal fix with their unrelenting brutality of Midwestern American metal.

Leaving no room for nonsense, the band brings forth their exhilarating brand of heaviness led by visceral guitar riffs and hard-hitting attitude, which is sure to obliterate fans of extreme music everywhere.

When talking about the bands debut album, REPENTANCE said: "We think we really captured true energy!! The songs fly by but are so aggressive and energetic that We hope it makes the listener crave repeat playbacks."

"God For A Day" track listing:

01. Repentance (Intro)
02. Only The Damned Die Young
03. Clarity
04. God For A Day
05. Snake-Oil Humanitarian
06. Enter the Gallows
07. Where Vultures Gather
08. Born to Choose
09. Deliverance

Photo credit: Armin Lang

Find more on Stuck mojo
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).