RINGWORM Announces New Album 'Seeing Through Fire', Shares 'No Solace, No Quarter, No Mercy' Single

June 2, 2023

Cleveland-bred pioneers of extreme atrocity RINGWORM have signed to Nuclear Blast Records. Their most vicious record in decades, "Seeing Through Fire", will arrive on August 18.

RINGWORM vocalist James "Human Furnace" Bulloch says: "We couldn't be more excited, really. Getting out to a larger audience is always the goal. And after a career as long as ours, you really appreciate your opportunities when they come to you. The chance to reach out to a globally larger metal scene, is always what the doctor ordered. NB gives us reach that we haven't had over the years and we're definitely fired up."

Speaking about "Seeing Through Fire", Bulloch adds: "We're pretty pumped on 'Seeing Through Fire'. It's a total burner. It's a straight-forward, 'smash your face and leave you layin' there wondering what you got hit with'-type record.

"We've never felt the need to 're-invent our own wheel' but going into this one we tried some different things sonically, and we're very happy with the results. Of course, it's the intention, every time we record a new record, but we feel like the overall sound, feel and aggression of 'Seeing Through Fire' one-ups many of our past records. Which, for anyone that knows our catalog, is not always an easy task. With every new record, you have to dig deeper."

Today, the band has revealed the record's first single, a no-holds-barred, furious neck-snapping track called "No Solace, No Quarter, No Mercy" that lays the groundwork for the impending brutality.

Bulloch says of the new single: "There's A LOT of crushers on the new one, so it was hard to pick one as a single. But we finally settled on 'No Solace, No Quarter, No Mercy'. It's got hooks, beat downs, head bangs, thrash.... Overall a pretty good taste of what you're gonna get from the new record and RINGWORM in general. This one delves into the endless conflict that we never seem to be free from. The constant outward, internal, mental and physical assaults that shape our lives, test our endurance, push our limits and challenge our breaking points."

"Seeing Through Fire" track listing:

01. Seeing Through Fire
02. Carved In Stone
03. No Solace, No Quarter, No Mercy
04. Death Hoax
05. Thought Crimes
06. Unavoidable Truth
07. House Of Flies
08. You Want It To
09. Mental Decontrol
10. Power And Blood
11. Playing God

On the rarest of occasions, there comes along a band that latches on and annihilates your ears with such a unique combination of sounds, you find yourself dislodged from the monotony of everyday music, and rooted firmly in the terrain of admiration. RINGWORM are no strangers to this concept, and have been fascinating metalheads with their unorthodox melodies for over 30 years.

"We wanted to go with a slightly different approach and look than the previous records. It's a new era for us," explains Bulloch. "It's a little bit of a return to our roots. You have those moments every so often where you wanna get back to your comfort zone, but at the same time you want to expand that comfort zone."

A different level of sound quality was accomplished with "Seeing Through Fire" as technology allowed RINGWORM to banish any previous restrictions laid upon them during the production and recording processes. Working again with Noah Buchanan of Mercinary Studios in Cleveland, this was the first time everything, including vocals, was all recorded in that same space.

RINGWORM is James "Human Furnace" Bulloch (vocals),Matt Sorg (guitar),Mike Lare (guitar),Ed Stephens (bass).

Photo credit: Doug French

Find more on Ringworm
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).