RIOT V Singer TODD MICHAEL HALL Releases 'Overdrive' Music Video Feat. METAL CHURCH Guitarist KURDT VANDERHOOF

April 3, 2021

RIOT V vocalist Todd Michael Hall will release his first-ever solo album, "Sonic Healing", on May 7 via Rat Pak Records. The official music video — filmed in Los Angeles — for the dics's debut single, "Overdrive", can be seen below.

Todd received national attention when he appeared on the 18th season of NBC's hit television show "The Voice". After being selected by judge Blake Shelton for his version of FOREIGNER's "Juke Box Hero", Todd explored the idea of making a solo album.

As the world shut down during the recent pandemic, Todd connected with METAL CHURCH guitarist Kurdt Vanderhoof to write the tracks that would become "Sonic Healing". Vanderhoof also produced the album that is now available for pre-order.

Todd stated about "Overdrive": "When Kurdt first played the music for me, the undeniable, driving energy made me think of flying down the highway in a fast car. With that imagery in my head, the lyrics and melodies started pouring out and 'Overdrive' was born. That same visual was what we wanted to showcase in the video too."

From the infectious guitar riffs of the opening track "Overdrive" to the anthemic album finale of "Long Lost Rock & Rollers", Todd showcases his vocal range and passion for rock music. Songs like "Let Loose Tonight", "Running After You" and "Like No Other" are testaments to the magic that was created when Todd and Kurdt began to focus on their deep love of classic rock icons like BOSTON, RUSH, STYX, FOREIGNER and REO SPEEDWAGON. Todd's multi-octave voice and Kurdt's riff-writing capabilities create memorable songs that are reminiscent of the artists that inspired them to pursue a career in music. With thought-provoking lyrics and rock-solid guitar riffs, "Sonic Healing" delivers all the power and punch that one would expect from these high-level players.

"Music has a healing effect to get you up and running," Todd explained. "People use it to console themselves on a daily basis. It's such a weird time right now. So 'Sonic Healing' is meant to be good positive rock. We definitely paid homage to our favorite bands, but we added a new twist. There's a hunger for this music, and there aren't many artists trying to scratch the itch. We're here to scratch the itch and bring the energy."

"Sonic Healing" track listing:

01. Overdrive
02. Let Loose Tonight
03. All On The Line
04. Running After You
05. Love Rain Down
06. Sonic Healing
07. Like No Other
08. Somebody's Fool
09. To The Bone
10. Long Lost Rock & Rollers

Photo credit: Doug Julian

Find more on Riot v
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).