RIVAL SONS To Release 'Feral Roots' Album In January

November 2, 2018

RIVAL SONS will release their new album, "Feral Roots", on January 25, 2019 via Grammy Award-winning producer Dave Cobb's major label imprint Low Country Sound/Atlantic. The forthcoming LP is highlighted by the brand new track "Back In The Woods", which is streaming today on RIVAL SONS' official YouTube channel and at all DSPs.

Produced by longtime collaborator Cobb at Nashville's famed RCA Studio A and the equally legendary Muscle Shoals Sound Studio in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, "Feral Roots" marks RIVAL SONS' Low Country Sound/Atlantic debut. Featuring covering artwork painted by renowned contemporary artist Martin Wittfooth, it is available for pre-order today with exclusive pre-order bundles — including limited-edition vinyl and autographed lithographs of the Wittfooth-designed cover art — available at RivalSons.com. All pre-orders are joined by instant grat downloads of the previously released album track "Do Your Worst" and "Back In The Woods".

"Do Your Worst" — which is closing in on the Top 15 at active rock radio — debuted last month via Rolling Stone, which hailed the single as "a relentless rocker with a gritty verse spearheaded by a sinister lead guitar riff and thumping drums. The track takes a deft turn when it hits the chorus, forgoing out-and-out guitar bombast for rousing gang vocals with singer Jay Buchanan leading the charge."

Known far and wide as a powerhouse live act, RIVAL SONS will celebrate "Feral Roots" with a worldwide tour schedule, including a headline European run set for early 2019. North American dates will be announced in the weeks to come.

RIVAL SONS are: Jay Buchanan (vocals),Scott Holiday (guitar),Dave Beste (bass guitar) and Mike Miley (drums).

"Feral Roots" track listing:

01. Do Your Worst
02. Sugar On The Bone
03. Back In The Woods
04. Look Away
05. Feral Roots
06. Too Bad
07. Stood By Me
08. Imperial Joy
09. All Directions
10. End Of Forever
11. Shooting Stars

Holiday is no stranger to Atlantic, having signed a deal with the label in 2000 with his first former band HUMAN LAB. That group spent two years making an album for the company, but the disc was never released.

Scott told Planet Rock: "It's painful to make a piece of art and not having it see the light of day. But I saw how the record business worked. And after that experience, I had to run in the other direction. With RIVAL SONS, it's thirty days writing and recording each album."

Holliday added that it was a huge honor to be signed to the longtime home of such rock legends as FOREIGNER, AC/DC, THE ROLLING STONES, LED ZEPPELIN and PHIL COLLINS. "It's kind of romantic to be at this big, legendary record label," he said. "And fuck all the rock 'n' roll bands — if you want to get really romantic, look at all the soul acts they signed, like Ray Charles and Aretha Franklin. We're talking about the bedrock, soul and blues, some of the most important recordings in the history of the world.

"But I'm a pragmatic person," he continued. "There's a lot of work to be done. We've made five records and we've had some success, but hopefully signing to Atlantic, we're going to have a little more."

RIVAL SONS' last album, "Hollow Bones", was released in June 2016 via Earache

The band spent much of 2016 supporting the legendary BLACK SABBATH on "The End" world tour.

Find more on Rival sons
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).