SALIVA To Release 'Love, Lies & Therapy' Album In June

April 16, 2016

SALIVA will release its ninth studio album, "Love, Lies & Therapy", on June 10 via Universal Music Enterprises (UMe). The band's second with lead vocalist Bobby Amaru joining co-founding member, lead guitarist Wayne Swinny, drummer Paul Crosby and newest member bassist Brad Stewart was produced by Amaru (with co-producers Nolan Neal and Damien Starkey) and sees the band finding a new energy and expanding their signature anthemic choruses and crunching riffs into different directions. The follow-up to 2014's "Rise Up" features power ballads ("Tragic Kind Of Love", "Break Down", "The Loneliest Know" and "Hand In Hand") alongside typical scorchers like "Trust", "Bitch Like You", "Unshatter Me", "Rx" and the rap-rock-flavored "Go Big Or Go Home". Adding to the eclectic approach is an unlikely, but powerful cover of Michael Jackson's "They Don't Care About Us", a single from his 1996 album "HIStory, Past Present And Future, Book 1".

"It's time to ignite/I refuse to lose/Cause I've come alive," insists Amaru in "Refuse To Lose", as he sets the template for "Love, Lies & Therapy", which lives up to its name as a penetrating glimpse into the horrors of addiction — to either another person or drugs. "I'm addicted to the pain/It was all for you," he sings in "Tragic Kind Of Love", while in "Bitch Like You", he confronts the issue straight-on. "Starving your addiction leave you/Leaves you wanting more." In "Unshatter Me", Amaru cries out, "Kneel down and put me back together fix me like before/You crush me when you touch me then I spill out on the floor" and in the explicit "Rx", he leaves no doubt what he's singing about: "I've got a loaded gun but can't pull the trigger/You're the poison in my veins you're the cancer/I can't fight it off/I can't fight this disease."

SALIVA does intend to overcome, though, as in "Go Big Or Go Home", where Amaru insists "It's my time to rise so let's go," or the closing "Hand In Hand", an elegiac, LED ZEPPELIN-esque number that seems to put his troubles behind him: "So I'll see you soon old friend/And we'll burn hand in hand," with a chilling Wayne Swinny guitar solo doing the honors in burying the past and facing the future.

"Love, Lies & Therapy" track listing:

01. Trust
02. Tragic Kind Of Love
03. Bitch Like You
04. Unshatter Me
05. Broken Wings
06. Rx
07. Break Down
08. Go Big or Go Home
09. The Loneliest Know
10. Refuse To Lose
11. They Don't Care About Us*
12. Hand In Hand

* Written by Michael Jackson


Find more on Saliva
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).