SAMMAL's Self-Titled Debut Due Next Month

December 19, 2012

Svart Records has set a January 18, 2013 release date for SAMMAL's self-titled debut, to be available on both CD and LP formats.

"Sammal" track listing:

01. Puolikuu
02. Esox Lucius
03. Jäniksen vuoksi
04. Kaikki kortit
05. Näennäiskäännännäinen
06. Lehtipuiden alle
07. Jokainen pysyköön uskossaan
08. Veneenrakentaja
09. Kylmää usvaa

According to a press release, SAMMAL "manages to capture a sense of golden moments in Finnish music, naturally and without pretensions. Vocals that soar confidently and warmly with beautiful lyrics which, though sung entirely in Finnish, are utterly relatable due to the passion in the voice and beauty of the compositions, made more arcane by the sentiments the sound evokes. Lyrics translated inside the booklet are a magic discovery of a band that inspires more about their culture and heart than most well-known Finnish bands today."

"SAMMAL began when we were staying at our singer's summer cottage one autumn, listening to classic rock and prog LPs with a barely functioning vintage turntable," comments guitarist/keyboardist Jura Salmi. "We had played in English language bands for some years, and that night we discussed our common interest to write songs in our native language and to follow the freely flowing creative spirit we heard on these records. We wanted to use music and the Finnish language to paint landscapes that are completely alien to modern-day stress and musical pigeonholing. Free association and freedom of expression are still at the core of SAMMAL."

Touching on these deep themes, rarely does a voice emote and sound so ubiquitous or wiser in modern rock. Through their riffs, solos, and vintage keys, you can find traces of everything that made Love Records and Finnish prog so beloved, not only in their home country but abroad. SAMMAL give the same impression of a band Finns can be proud of, while doing a great service to their musical culture and heritage. They have a masterful natural command of classic rock music that surpasses their age with nods to THIN LIZZY, CAMEL, BIRTH CONTROL, BUDGIE, and the epic guitar journeys of the ALLMAN BROTHERS, while all along carving their own unique path.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).