SKINTRADE Covers KATY PERRY's 'Wide Awake' On New Album 'Scarred For Life'

June 3, 2015

Swedish hard rockers SKINTRADE will release their new album, "Scarred For Life", on July 24 via AOR Heaven. Once again, the CD was recorded, co-produced and mixed by Oscar Ammer. This time SKINTRADE also worked with producer Geo Slam on the song "Wide Awake", originally recorded by Katy Perry.

"We wanted to do something special on this record and I came across this song and instantly liked it. It had that quality we were looking for in a cover and we felt we could deliver a version true to what SKINTRADE stands for and still pay our respect to one of Sweden's most outstanding songwriters and producers, Max Martin," says SKINTRADE vocalist Matti Alfonzetti.

The band is currently shooting a video for "Wide Awake", to be relased late this summer. Working with producer Geo Slam was also a highlight. "Geo had a different approach to what we usually go for and the result was awesome," Matti said.

According to SKINTRADE, "Scarred For Life" saw the band concentrate on "songs and musicianship" and it is "a natural follow-up" to 2014's "Refueled".

"Our focus always was and always will be on the songwriting and the ferocious riffs and grooves to match," says Alfonzetti: "This time we started writing almost within a week after the release of 'Refueled'; that's how inspired we were to continue releasing good songs and to show our fans that we are in it.

"We're really proud of the new album and we definitely feel that this is our best effort so far. We can't wait to get out on the road again and meet our old friends and to make new ones."

SKINTRADE is currently on tour in Europe to promote "Scarred For Life" and plans to stay on the road extensively throughout 2015.

"Scarred For Life" track listing:

01. Scarred For Life
02. Goodbye
03. Wide Awake
04. Lay With Me
05. Find A Way
06. Lovehate
07. Leave A Scar
08. Broken
09. Storm Will Come
10. 15 Minutes Gone

SKINTRADE was formed in 1992 by Matti Alfonzetti (vocals),George Bravo (guitar, backing vocals),Stefan Bergström (guitar, backing vocals),Hakan Calmroth (bass) and Håkan Persson (drums, backing vocals). The group's self-titled debut was released in 1993 and received overwhelmingly positive respnse from both media and audience. The singles "Sick As A Dog" and "One By One" were played frequently on the radio and their videos spun on MTV's "Headbangers Ball". The same year, SKINTRADE was honored with a Zeppelin award for "Best Hard Rock Album" and was nominated for a Swedish Grammis (Grammy equivalent) in the category of "Best Video." The follow-up CD, "Roach Powder", came out in 1995 with Thomas Skogsberg as a producer (ENTOMBED, DISMEMBER). The videos for the singles "Snap Goes Your Mind" and "Flies" were played regularly on MTV.

Between 1993 and 1995, SKINTRADE embarked on several tours of Europe and played at some of Sweden's and Europe's biggest festivals such as Sweden Rock, Hultsfred, Dala Rock, Dynamo Open Air (Holland) and Rock Am Ring (Germany). SKINTRADE also supported the Danish band D-A-D on their European tour in 1995. One of their last and most memorable gigs took place in late 1995 with the Irish band THERAPY? during a live radio show in Amsterdam, Netherlands. SKINTRADE disbanded shortly thereafter.

The idea for the SKINTRADE members to collaborate again came about as they got more and more requests from fans asking them to make new music. During the first rehearsal in May 2011, it became obvious that the band's chemistry was very much intact.

In the summer and autumn of 2011, SKINTRADE recorded four new songs at Sound Trade Studios with their old friend and partner Ronny Lahti, engineer and producer who previously worked with the band on all the recordings in the '90s.

SKINTRADE's "best-of" album, "Past And Present", was released in March 2012 via Universal Music. The CD includes three new songs and 12 classics.

SKINTRADE 2015 is:

Matti Alfonzetti - Vocals, Guitar
Stefan Bergström - Guitar, Backing Vocals
Håkan Calmroth - Bass
Håkan Persson - Drums, Backing Vocals

"Scarred For Life" (song) audio sample:

"Wide Awake" audio sample:


Find more on Skintrade
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).