SLASH And Friends In Las Vegas; Video Footage Posted Online

October 6, 2009

VELVET REVOLVER/ex-GUNS N' ROSES guitarist Slash was joined by all-star lineup of musicians — including VELVET REVOLVER bandmates Duff McKagan and Matt Sorum, plus Joe Perry (AEROSMITH),Rick Nielsen (CHEAP TRICK),Courtney Love (HOLE),and Franky Perez (SCARS ON BROADWAY) — for a special performance in Las Vegas on Friday, October 2. The concert, billed "Slash & Friends", celebrated the 20th anniversary of Las Vegas hotel, casino and white tiger playground the Mirage. The setlist included "War Pigs", "Highway To Hell", "Whipping Post", "20th Century Boy" (sung by Love),"Whole Lotta Love", "Walk This Way" (with Sen Dog from CYPRESS HILL and Perez on vocals),"Surrender", "Toys In The Attic", "It's So Easy" and "Paradise City".

The "house band" for the Mirage gig was as follows:

* Johnny Griparic (SLASH'S SNAKEPIT) - Bass
* Ted "Zig Zag" Andreadis (GUNS N' ROSES) - Keyboards
* Slash - Guitar
* Franky Perez (SCARS ON BROADWAY) - Vocals

Check out a full review from the Las Vegas Sun. A photo gallery is available at this location.

Fan-filmed video footage of the performance can be viewed below.

The Mirage, developed by casino mogul Steve Wynn, opened in November 1989.

Slash has spent the last few months recording material for his forthcoming solo album, which will be released under the "Slash & Friends" banner. He says, "the [record] is in its mixing stage and the mixes to this point sound great. We have recorded 18 songs, with one more I want to track in the next couple weeks." He adds, "the record is still slated for a February/March release."

Slash tracked most of the CD with former NINE INCH NAILS drummer Josh Freese and ex-JANE'S ADDICTION bassist Chris Chaney. Confirmed guest singers so far include Ozzy Osbourne, AVENGED SEVENFOLD's M. Shadows and Chris Cornell (SOUNDGARDEN, AUDIOSLAVE). The CD was produced by Eric Valentine (GOOD CHARLOTTE, QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE) and features additional appearances by ex-GUNS N' ROSES drummer Steven Adler, RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS bassist Flea and former NIRVANA drummer and current FOO FIGHTERS frontman Dave Grohl.

Slash left GUNS N' ROSES in the mid-'90s, forming SLASH'S SNAKEPIT before later assembling VELVET REVOLVER with several other ex-members of GUNS N' ROSES and STONE TEMPLE PILOTS singer Scott Weiland (who was dismissed in April 2008).

"Celebrity Skin" with Courtney Love, Slash:

"Walk This Way" with Joe Perry, Slash, John 5, Franky Perez and Sen Dog:

"Paradise City" with Slash, Duff McKagan, Courtney Love, Joe Perry, Dave Kushner, Franky Perez:

"When I Grow Up" with Slash, Nicole Scherzinger and John 5:

"Slither" with Slash, Duff McKagan, Dave Kushner, Matt Sorum and Franky Perez:

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email