SLOUGH FEG: Two New Songs Available For Streaming

One of the most unique and underrated metal acts today, SLOUGH FEG has amassed quite the dedicated following over the 20 or so years that it has been active and has churned out such classic American metal albums as "Dawn Amongst The Deadmen", "Twilight Of The Idols" and "Traveler" (the latter being the album many claim as the SLOUGH FEG classic).

Led by the charismatic vocalist/guitarist/lyricist Mike Scalzi, who has easily established himself as one of the best and most distinct vocalists and lyricists in all of metal, "The Animal Spirits" (which features an appearance from BROCAS HELM vocalist Bob Wright) will align itself as another gem in the illustrious SLOUGH FEG repertoire and be considered as one of the great metal releases to be released this year.

Regarding the album title, Scalzi states, "The title sounds like it could mean plenty of things, but really refers to an Aristotelian theory of perception that was somehow taken seriously until the mid-to-later 1700s (?!) Why this was I don't know, but it involves these bizarre fluid called 'animal spirits' traveling through a person's veins carrying information of what they have perceived, storing it in the heart, and then releasing it again when that thing is remembered. It really a primitive precursor to the idea of neurons firing in a chain, containing ideas. So that's what people will find if they do a little research about the title."

Going further into the themes of the album, Scalzi elaborates, "The content of the record is (subject wise) is not too far from usual SLOUGH FEG material. The first two songs are about Medieval Catholic theology. Then it switches to basic horror themes, a couple of songs about some insane person who thinks he's a vampire, and then a werewolf (inspired by the Gothic soap-opera 'Dark Shadows') then there's one of our weird 'what if Dicky Betts of the ALLMAN BROTHERS had joined IRON MAIDEN in 1980' instrumentals. Then a few more songs about frustration, misery and madness, and a final fast, driving rock/metal number called 'Tactical Air-War', which will be sung by Bob Wright of BROCAS HELM!"

Due in North America on October 26 via Profound Lore Records, "The Animal Spirits" will feature the following track listing:

01. Trick the Vicar
02. The 95 Thesis
03. Materia Prima
04. Free Market Barbarian
05. Lycanthropic Fantasies
06. Ask the Casket
07. Heavyworlder
08. The Tell-Tale Heart
09. Kon-Tiki
10. Second Coming
11. Tactical Air-War

"The 95 Thesis" audio stream:

"Free Market Barbarian" audio stream:


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).