SOTO: Making Of 'Origami' Part One (Video)

May 2, 2019

SOTO, the modern heavy metal/hard rock group featuring vocalist Jeff Scott Soto (YNGWIE MALMSTEEN, TALISMAN, JOURNEY, SONS OF APOLLO, TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA),will release its third studio album, "Origami", on May 24.

Part one of an Electronic Press Kit (EPK) for "Origami" can be seen below.

"Origami" will be released as a limited-digipak CD with a set of thrree stickers and a bonus track, 180-gram vinyl LP including the entire album on CD, and as digital download. The album comes packaged with classy artwork by Gustavo Sazes (MACHINE HEAD, AMARANTHE, ARCH ENEMY).

Regarding the "Origami" title track, Jeff comments: "This is one of the earlier tunes brought to us by our new bassist, Tony Dickinson, who has experience with giving us singles from the first two SOTO albums, so he is a veteran with us even before joining the band.

"The word 'origami' is never used in the song, but made for a great title and even better album title. It has prog bits, very heavy moments yet very melodic, what we call melody with muscle! It also features some amazing frenetic guitar work from Jorge Salan, a proper blaster representative of the album."

"Origami" track listing:

01. HyperMania
02. Origami
03. BeLie
04. World Gone Colder
05. Detonate
06. Torn
07. Dance With The Devil
08. AfterGlow
09. Vanity Lane
10. Give In To Me
11. KMAG (bonus track)

SOTO started in 2015 derived from the ideal of Jeff Scott Soto wanting to return to his heavier roots. So far they released two albums, "Inside The Vertigo" (2015) and "DIVAK" (2016),taking a short break while Jeff joined the supergroup SONS OF APOLLO, alongside Mike Portnoy, Derek Sherinian, Billy Sheehan and Ron "Bumblefoot" Thal.

Now SOTO is returning under the same umbrella as SONS OF APOLLO, signing with InsideOut Music. "Origami" contains material that continues to expand and move the band towards new heights whilst following up with its brand of power rock.

SOTO will hit South America for live dates in May and intends to be touring worldwide throughout 2019 following the release of the new album.

SOTO is:

Jeff Scott Soto - Vocals
Jorge Salan - Guitar
Tony Dickinson - Bass
BJ - Keys/Guitar
Edu Cominato – Drums

Photo credit: Igor Vidyashev

Find more on Jeff scott soto
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email