STATIC-X: New Single Available For Streaming

February 18, 2009

"Stingwray", the new single from the Los Angeles-based metal band STATIC-X, is available for streaming on the group's MySpace page (click on the "Stingwray" artwork in the player in order to launch audio). The track was inspired by frontman Wayne Static's wife, former adult film star Tera Wray, and the Corvette Stingray she drives.

"Stingwray" comes off STATIC-X's new album, "Cult of Static", which is scheduled for release on March 17 via Reprise Records. Elsehwere on the CD, the cybernetic stomp of "Hypure" and "You Am I" bludgeon, bruise and break with precise grooves, while the staccato riffs on "Terminal" crush through an unmistakable guitar tone. Guitarist Koichi Fukuda blazes through incendiary solos, while Tony Campos bolts down demonic bass lines and Nick Oshiro pounds out deadly rhythms. Wayne Static riffs pure violence and screams out his soul.

A song you may already be familiar with is "Lunatic" as it was included on the "Punisher: War Zone" movie soundtrack. Although "Lunatic" is relentless and raw, brandishing a ripping groove and an impenetrable barrier of guitars, the album cut was re-recorded to feature a solo by legendary MEGADETH mainman Dave Mustaine.

"I've been a huge MEGADETH fan for years," explains Static. "We've toured with them twice. Mustaine and I really hit it off on the road. His lead style is one of the most distinctive styles out there. There's something amazing about it. When you hear him solo, you know it's him."

"Cult of Static" track listing:

01. Lunatic (feat. Dave Mustaine)
02. Z28
03. Terminal
04. Hypure
05. Tera-Fied
06. Stingwray
07. You Am I
08. Isolaytore
09. Nocturnally
10. Skinned
11. Grind 2 Halt

STATIC-X spoke with Ryan Manno of Chicago's Q101.1 FM from the Staples Center in Los Angeles ahead of this year's Grammy Awards, which was held on February 8. Regarding the band's upcoming album, "Cult of Static", guitarist/vocalist Wayne Static stated, "[It is] just as heavy as our last record, 'Cannibal'. But there's a lot more depth to it... It's very epic for us. Normally our songs last about two-and-a-half minutes, and there's five- and six-minute songs on this record. You can really chill out to this and have a great time. There's parts that are really super heavy and shreddy, and there's parts that are moody and dark." Watch the chat below.

STATIC-X is tentatively scheduled to take part in this year's Snocore tour alongside SALIVA and other yet-to-be-announced acts.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email