STEEL PROPHET: 'The Tree Of Knowledge' Video Released

June 17, 2014

STEEL PROPHET has released "The Tree Of Knowledge", the second video clip from its forthcoming album, "Omniscient", which is due on July 4 in Europe and July 11 in the U.S. on Cruz Del Sur Music.

Ten years after their last studio release, the originators of the progressive power metal movement return with the their classic sound led by Steve Kachinsky Blakmoor (guitarist and founding member) and veteran metal singer Rick Mythiasin.

The recording lineup for "Omniscient" was rounded out by Vince Dennis (also known as "Vincent Price" in Ice T's BODY COUNT) on bass, Chris Schleyer on guitar and Jimmy Schultz on drums. After the CD recordings were completed , original drummer John Tarascio and guitarist John Paget returned to the fold.

"Omniscient" is composed of 12 songs based on an original story written by Kachinsky.

"Omniscient" track listing:

01. Trickery Of The Scourge
02. When I Remake The World (A Key Flaw)
03. 911
04. Chariots Of The Gods
05. The Tree Of Knowledge
06. 666 Is Everywhere (The Heavy Metal Blues)
07. Oleander Deux
08. Aliens, Spaceships And Richard M. Nixon
09. Through Time And Space
10. Funeral For Art
11. Call Of Katahdin
12. Transformation Staircase
13. Bohemian Rhapsody
14. 1984 (George Orwell Is Rolling In His Grave)

The previously released video for "666 Is Everywhere (The Heavy Metal Blues)" — the sixth song on the "Omniscient" album — can be seen below.

Although STEEL PROPHET is not known for being humorous, the whimsy of the lyrics is reflected in the video clip shot by AGENT STEEL and REDEMPTION guitarist Bernie Versailles.

About the song, Kachinsky says: "STEEL PROPHET knows metal fans have a fascination with the numbers '666'. And when you're in a metal band trying to make a living, sometimes it seems like '666 is everywhere!'"

The idea of telling a story throughout a whole album is similar to STEEL PROPHET's 1999 classic "Dark Hallucinations", which featured the "Fahrenheit 451" story by Ray Bradbury. The famous German artist Timo Würz was hired to create the amazing cover artwork, and 12 original booklet illustrations to go with the lyrics and story itself. The album also contains a thirteenth song, a cover of QUEEN's "Bohemian Rhapsody", which was successfully presented by the band at the 2013 edition of the Keep It True festival in Germany. A video clip of the event will see the light shortly before the release of "Omniscient".

"Omniscient" will be released in limited edition 32-page digibook, regular compact disc, limited gate-fold double LP and digital download.


Find more on Steel prophet
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).