STONE SOUR Releases Official Live Music Video For 'Whiplash Pants'

December 9, 2019

STONE SOUR has released the official live video for the song "Whiplash Pants", taken from the band's upcoming live album, "Hello, You Bastards: Live In Reno", due on December 13 via Cooking Vinyl.

"Hello, You Bastards: Live In Reno" features 16 of the band's most loved tracks, including "Absolute Zero", "Through Glass" and "Song #3" recorded live on October 5, 2018. The album will be available on CD, digitally, and as a numbered 180-gram double vinyl package, limited to just 2500 copies, which also includes a poster, backstage pass, guitar pick, autographed setlist and a download card.

Speaking on the band's first official live release, guitarist Josh Rand says: "It's with great pleasure that I get to announce the first-ever official STONE SOUR live record release. This is the Reno show in its entirety, just how it went down on October 5th, 2018. We’re extremely proud of the fact that it's 100% live with absolutely no overdubs! It's not perfect but neither are we. As a collector myself, I wanted this limited-edition release to be very special. The vinyl is pressed on 180 grams, giving you the best audio quality possible, and is limited to 2500 copies worldwide. I hope you enjoy this as much as we did playing it."

"Hello, You Bastards: Live In Reno" track listing:

01. YSIF
02. Taipei Person / Allah Tea
03. Do Me A Favor
04. Knievel Has Landed
05. Whiplash Pants
06. Absolute Zero
07. Bother
08. Tired
09. Rose Red Violent Blue
10. 30/30-150
11. Get Inside
12. Reborn
13. Song #3
14. Through Glass
15. Made Of Scars
16. Fabuless

Earlier this year, STONE SOUR bassist Johny Chow confirmed to Meltdown of Detroit, Michigan's WRIF 101.1 FM radio station that the band has commenced the songwriting process for the follow-up to 2017's "Hydrograd" album.

STONE SOUR singer Corey Taylor told Australia's Heavy magazine in 2018 that he and his bandmates started writing new music "pretty much as soon as we got on the road" in support of "Hydrograd". "We just can't be stopped; we're just gluttons for punishment at this point," he said. "But the cool thing is that knowing that we've got all this great material, we can kind of enjoy the rest as much as we can because we know that when it's time to really start kind of ramping up the demo machine, we're gonna have all this cool stuff to listen to. There's no pressure for us to just run right in."

Taylor, who stepped away from STONE SOUR in 2019 to focus on SLIPKNOT, said that the former band's absence from the touring circuit "will allow the audience to miss [STONE SOUR], which is the best thing in the world you can have — that built-in need for a band to come back. Just when you think you can't wait any longer, here comes this band and they're, like, 'Oh, goddamn, they're so good right now.' So we're pretty stoked, man. We're definitely looking forward to trying to see if we can top 'Hydrograd'."

"Hydrograd" was released as a deluxe edition in August 2018. The two-disc set, "Hydrograd Deluxe Edition", collects unreleased covers, b-sides, live recordings and alternate versions of songs from "Hydrograd". The deluxe edition is highlighted by "Burn One Turn One", a previously unreleased b-side from "Hydrograd". "Hydrograd Deluxe Edition" features 13 rare or unreleased songs including an acoustic version of the No. 1 rock song "Song #3", as well as covers of hits from RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE, SOUNDGARDEN and VAN HALEN.

Find more on Stone sour
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email