STUCK MOJO Guitarist: 'There's Music That's 'The Sh*t' And There's Just Plain Old Sh*t'

August 17, 2006

STUCK MOJO guitarist and main songwriter Rich Ward was recently asked by a fan on the band's official forum if MOJO will ever write a "really heavy" record again. "I have no idea," Ward responded. "When I started writing the new MOJO record ['Southern Born Killers'], my goal was to write a really heavy record. With that in mind, I wrote a lot of the songs with aggressive double bass kick drum patterns and I used the 'standard riff stylings' that are the thumbprint of my guitar playing. As I started adding vocals and extra guitar bits, some of the songs started taking on a vibe that was less 'up your ass' than my initial intent was. The best way to explain it is, that I didn't "try" to force anything on the record. I just let ideas flow, as I always have in the past and the ideas that really spoke to me, were the ones that I kept.

"Is 'Southern Born Killers' heavy? I don't even know what that means anymore. It's more aggressive than SICK SPEED [Ward's now-defunct side-project] and as an album, it's probably more so than some of the stuff on previous MOJO records. It's the most musically challenging record the band has ever recorded and probably contains the most well written songs as well. With all of MOJO's previous releases in mind, the album sure sounds like a MOJO record. As always, it's different from the last, but most certainly a MOJO record.

"To me, there's music that's 'the shit' and there's just plain old shit. As for 'Southern Born Killers', there is only one thing that I am certain of, there will be plenty of people who will think that it's 'the shit' and plenty of others who think that it's just plain old shit."

"Southern Born Killers" was recorded at Backstage Studios in Derbyshire, U.K. with producer Andy Sneap (NEVERMORE, ARCH ENEMY, MACHINE HEAD, EXODUS).

Joining Ward and frontman Bonz (who has since departed from teh group) in STUCK MOJO's current recording lineup are FOZZY/DUKE bassist Sean Delson and the band's latest addition, drummer Eric Sanders.

"Southern Born Killers" projected track listing (in no particular order):

01. I'm Back
02. Southern Born Killers
03. Metal Is Dead
04. Born For This Moment
05. Friends
06. The Sky Is Falling
07. That's When I Burn
08. The Fear Is All Around Me
09. Open Season
10. In My Mind
11. Home
12. Invincible
13. Rhythm and Bullshit

"Southern Born Killers" is tentatively scheduled for release in late 2006/early 2007 through an as-yet-undetermined label. The band was previously signed to Century Media Records.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).