SULLY ERNA's 'Avalon' Cracks U.S. Top 25

September 22, 2010

GODSMACK frontman Sully Erna's solo debut, "Avalon", sold around 14,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at position No. 24 on The Billboard 200 chart.

Erna told The Pulse of Radio in a recent interview that he considers "Avalon" a high point of his musical career to this point. "That has been really probably one of the best times I've had in my musical career ever, and I feel like it's some of my best work I've ever done," he said. "I'm really excited to have the public hear it. I've been keeping it on a very tight, you know, lock and chain."

In addition to first single/video "Sinner's Prayer", tracks on the album include "7 Years", "Broken Road", "The Rise", "The Departed" and the title track.

Although Erna finished making the record last year, he held off on issuing until after GODSMACK released its fifth studio effort, "The Oracle", earlier this summer.

In a post at GODSMACK's MySpace page, Erna emphasized that "Avalon" was "not a rock record," saying, "This record was recorded with all hand drums, cellos, flutes, piano, etc. It is very eclectic and intellectual. It is something that you will want to put on when you're in the mood to lie on your couch, dim the lights, and light all your candles and incense. Just vibe out to this hypnotic variety of music, and enjoy the pictures that will be painted in your mind."

"Avalon" track listing:

01. Avalon
02. 7 Years
03. Broken Road
04. Sinner's Prayer
05. My Light
06. The Rise
07. Until Then...
08. The Departed
09. Eyes Of A Child
10. In Through Time

GODSMACK will kick off a fall U.S. tour on September 28 in Hollywood, Florida, with shows set through November 4 in Los Angeles. Support will come from FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH and DROWNING POOL.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email