SUSPERIA Interviewed In London; Video Available

May 29, 2009

James Young of Soundshock.Net conducted an interview with Norwegian metallers SUSPERIA before the band's May 22, 2009 concert at the O2 Islington Academy in London, England. Watch the chat in two parts below.

SUSPERIA enlisted Bernt Fjellestad from fellow Norwegian band GUARDIANS OF TIME to stand in for vocalist Athera for the group's U.K. tour, which kicked off on May 18 in Bideford.

Athera (real name: Pal Mathiesen) successfully underwent open-heart surgery on March 16 at Rikshospitalet University Hospital, Oslo, Norway. The vocalist was originally scheduled to have a triple bypass operation, but surgeons discovered further problems which resulted in Athera also having a main artery — which previously ran to his lungs — connected directly to his heart.

Athera has been advised by doctors that full recovery will take between three and five months. As a result, the band's previously announced Norwegian dates, which were set for April, have been postponed. The U.K. tour with BREED 77 went ahead at the insistence of Athera himself, having urged the band not to let their U.K. fans down.

A new SUSPERIA song, "Live My Dream", is available for streaming at this location. The track comes off the band's fifth album, "Attitude", which was released on May 19 via Candlelight Records (one day earlier internationally). The follow-up to 2007's "Cut From Stone" was recorded in Norway and was mixed at Studio Fredman in Sweden. It features guest appearances by Chuck Billy (TESTAMENT) and Shagrath (DIMMU BORGIR).

The track listing for the CD is as follows:

01. The Urge
02. Live My Dream
03. Attitude
04. Elegy And Suffering
05. Sick Bastard
06. Another Turn
07. Mr. Stranger
08. Character Flaw
09. The One After All

An e-card for "Attitude" can be accessed at this location.

SUSPERIA currently includes guitarists Cyrus and Elvorn, bassist Memnock, with drummer Tjodalv and vocalist Athera.

Part 1:

Part 2:

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email