TANKARD: New Album Track Listing, Song-By-Song Commentary

May 4, 2012

German alcoholic thrashers TANKARD will release their their 30th-anniversary album, "A Girl Called Cerveza", on July 27 via the band's new label home, Nuclear Blast Records. The CD was recorded at Studio 23 in Frankfurt with producer Michael Mainx (ONKELZ, DER W, DISBELIEF, D-A-D).

"A Girl Called Cerveza" track listing:

11. Running On Fumes
12. A Girl Called Serveza
13. Witchhunt 2.0
14. Masters Of Farces
15. The Metal Lady Boy (feat. Doro Pesch)
16. Not One Day Dead (But One Day Mad)
17. Son Of A Fridge
18. Fandom At Random
19. Metal Magnolia
20. Rapid Fire (A Tyrant's Elegy)

TANKARD vocalist Andreas "Gerre" Geremia's track-by-track commentary:

"Running On Fumes":

Gerre: "Within the last two years, it has happened at several concerts that we ran out of beer for both the audience and the band. That's, of course, an insupportable situation that has to be worked off lyrically. Apart from that, one of my favorite songs with a very catchy chorus."

"A Girl Called Cerveza":

Gerre: "Our bass player Frank came up with this brilliant album title during our first stay in South America in December of 2007. I really don't remember why this track didn't find its way onto the last album — we're all suffering from dementia already. A highly catchy chorus penned by our ex-guitarist Andreas Bulgaropoulos plus kind of an old school-ish verse. Not least because of the topic obviously the first choice for a video clip!"

"Witchhunt 2.0":

Gerre: "The first song that we wrote for the new record. A typical TANKARD thrasher that's also quite contentful on the lyrical side: It's about cyber mobbing and all the shit happening anonymously on the Internet!"

"Masters Of Farces":

Gerre: "The first political song on the album. It's mostly about the marionettes of the populist American tea party movement. Musically, it's a catchy vigorous thrasher."

"The Metal Lady Boy" (feat. Doro Pesch)

Gerre: "Absolutely my personal favorite song of the album — not only because Doro is singing on it. When I visited one of her concerts a while ago and she spotted me in the first row, I had to come onto the stage and join her for 'All We Are'. Later on, I asked her backstage in a slightly tipsy condition if she'd like to sing on a TANKARD love song — and she agreed. This song is based on our first trip to Thailand last summer and offers big hit potential!"

"Not One Day Dead (But One Day Mad)":

Gerre: "This one's about us being around for 30 years, never giving up and always fighting against the odds — our own birthday song, so to speak. There have been some changes in the chorus during the recordings in the studio, but yet I believe that it's a typical timeless TANKARD song that could have also been released 20 years ago!"

"Son Of A Fridge":

Gerre: "A terrific play on words referring to 'Son Of A Bitch'. Very melodic beginning with clean vocals. The song escalates, but nevertheless remains the most melodic track on the album due to the chorus."

"Fandom At Random":

Gerre: "Very dragging beginning that later on develops into a true thrash grenade. It's a critical analysis of a fan's life."

"Metal Magnolia":

Gerre: "When looking at the title, one could think the song contained funny lyrics, but in actual fact it's about the relationship between men and women in general — almost the second love song on the album with a really speedy and catchy chorus plus wicked effects in the middle of the song!"

"Rapid Fire (A Tyrant's Elegy)":

Gerre: "According to the opinion of many people who've heard the album so far, this is one of the most sophisticated songs on the record. With its strong chorus it's absolutely a
worthy conclusion of the album with very serious and relevant lyrics: It deals with a dictator oppressing his nation!"

TANKARD's fourteenth studio album, "Vol(l)ume 14", was released on December 17, 2010 via AFM Records. The limited-edition digipak version of the album included a bonus DVD containing footage of TANKARD's performance at the 2009 edition of the Headbangers Open Air festival, which took place July 23-25, 2009 in in Brande-Hörnerkirchen, Germany.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email