TARJA TURUNEN: Montreal Video Footage, Photos Available

May 4, 2009

Former NIGHTWISH singer Tarja Turunen performed at Medley in Montreal, Quebec, Canada on May 1, 2009 as part of her short North American tour in support of the "My Winter Storm" album.

Fan-filmed video footage of the performance can be viewed below (courtesy of dollxofmetal).

Check out photos from MetalUniverse.net.

Tarja's setlist was as follows:

01. Boy & The Ghost
02. Lost Northern Star
03. My Little Phoenix
04. Passion & The Opera
05. The Seer
06. Dead Gardens
07. I Walk Alone
08. Ciaran's Well
09. Sing For Me
10. Nemo
11. Enough
12. Minor - Reign - Oasis
13. Poison
14. Wishmaster
15. Die Alive
16. Calling Grace
17. Over The Hills And Far Away

Tarja's band for the trek consists of the following musicians:

Tarja Turunen - Vocals
Maria Ilmoniemi - Keyboards
Oliver Holzwarth (BLIND GUARDIAN, ex-SIEGES EVEN) - Bass
Alex Scholpp (ex-FARMER BOYS) - Guitar
Max Lilja (HEVEIN, ex-APOCALYPTICA) - Cello

Spinefarm Records recently released a new digital single from Tarja Turunen entitled "Enough". The single features the title track plus the bonus song "Wisdom Of Wind"; both cuts are brand new recordings, although it's yet to be determined if they will feature on the singer's second full studio album under the Tarja banner.

Tarja Turunen has set "What Lies Beneath" as the working title of her new solo CD, tentatively due before the end of the year. She says, "With [2007's] 'My Winter Storm', I chose the name of the album in the early stages and that helped me to create the concept for the album. With the new album, I decided to do it the same way, so I searched for an inspiring title and all the songs are one way or another related to it."

Regarding the songwriting process for the new CD, Turunen says, "In the last months I've been writing a lot of music for my new album. Songwriting is always an amazing learning experience, and it has been a pleasure to discuss music with different people.

"The album process is still going on and I have more songs that are in the working. It is sounding very promising. The songs are absolutely more mature, wild, and emotional and they sound more me, if I can say so.

"The biggest difference in preparing this new album is that I will be taking the time that I need until the songs are in a shape that I am happy with. No matter how long it takes. I want it to be perfect for me. No hurry; no pressure."

Tarja's album "My Winter Storm" was re-released on January 2. This double CD "extended special edition" is packed with 32 tracks, including the CD "My Winter Storm" with the addition of the song "The Seer" in its original version. The bonus disc presents several new tracks, remixes and live recordings. Among them, the brand new song "Enough" and "The Seer", this time featuring a duet with German rock star Doro Pesch. Both tracks were mixed at Resonate Recording Studios by Toby Wright (SLAYER, KORN, KISS, ALICE IN CHAINS). Also included is the previously unreleased track "Wisdom Of Wind", composed by Jeff Rona and Lisa Gerrard and featuring the Beijing Philharmonic with Qingdao Symphony Orchestra recorded in China. The two-CD set is available as a digipack deluxe edition including an exclusive poster, new album cover and enhanced booklet containing new photos.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email