TARJA TURUNEN: Performance Footage Of Two New Songs Available

July 17, 2010

Fan-filmed video footage of former NIGHTWISH singer Tarja Turunen performing two new songs, "Falling Awake" and "We Are", for the first time on June 25, 2010 at this year's Graspop Metal Meeting in Dessel, Belgium can be viewed below.

In other news, Tarja was interviewed by Czech Republic's CT1 on July 13, 2010 prior to her appearance two days later at the at the Masters Of Rock festival in Vizovice, Czech Republic. Watch the chat in two parts below.

Turunen will release the "Falling Awake" single in the U.K. on July 19 exclusively as a 10-inch vinyl via Spinefarm Records. This highly collectible format will be limited to 1,000 copies, all of them pressed onto "marbled" vinyl and numbered by hand, and will be available exclusively from online retailer What Records.

"Falling Awake" is the first track to be released from the forthcoming Tarja outing, "What Lies Beneath" — her second full album to be made available under the Tarja banner and the follow-up to 2007's "My Winter Storm". This version of the track differs from the one that will appear on "What Lies Beneath" in that if features a special guest appearance from FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH guitarist Jason Hook. Mixing was handled, as with much of the new album, by renowned U.K. producer Colin Richardson, whose track record includes work with such artists as SLIPKNOT, MACHINE HEAD and BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE.

The B-side of the "Falling Awake" 10-inch single is "The Good Die Young" — a specially mixed version of the song from the new SCORPIONS album, "Sting In The Tail", with Tarja's vocals now more prominent overall.

"What Lies Beneath" is scheduled for release on September 3 via Spinefarm Records, preceded by follow-up single/video, "Until My Last Breath", on August 16.

With production handled by Tarja herself and selected tracks mixed by U.K. producer Colin Richardson, the follow-up to 2007's "My Winter Storm" "looks set to take Tarja's unique musical mix of drama 'n' decibels to a whole new level of success," according to a press release.

"We worked on 33 songs this time around from which I decided to record 17," Tarja explained. "It has been great to have the freedom to produce my own record for the first time; these sessions have been such a gift, a real learning process and a true joy. In many ways, it feels like the first time…"

ALL THAT REMAINS singer Phil Labonte has contributed guest vocals to "What Lies Beneath". Labonte appears in the track "Dark Star", which Turunen described as a "duet." Tarja stated, "I haven't been really working with such impressive vocals before. With [Phil's vocal contributions], the song reached another dimension."

"Falling Awake" performance from Graspop Metal Meeting:

"We Are" performance from Graspop Metal Meeting:

Interview Part 1:

Interview Part 2:

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email