THE CURSED Featuring OVERKILL, Ex-HADES Members: Debut CD Due In May

March 14, 2007

In the 1980s, many New Jersey-based metalheads witnessed the emergence of two bands that rocketed out of the metal underground — OVERKILL and HADES.

Come 2007, the leaders of each band — OVERKILL singer Bobby "Blitz" Ellsworth and HADES guitarist Dan Lorenzo — have joined forces in a new band, THE CURSED, who are readying the release of their debut full-length, "Room Full of Sinners", on May 22 via the Screaming Ferret label.

Along with bassist Job the Raver and drummer Mike Cristi, the group spent much of the spring and summer of 2006 writing and rehearsing new material. "Leven Als God in Frankrijk" brings to mind vintage MOTÖRHEAD, while the album's first single, "Evil, in the Bag", wouldn't sound out of place on one of BLACK SABBATH's early '70s classic albums. "Room Full of Sinners" also benefits greatly from the sound of a band that hasn't been processed through ProTools — it sounds pretty darn close to standing in the middle of the group's rehearsal space while they let it rip. As a result, THE CURSED will undoubtedly appeal to headbangers who like their metal lean and mean.

The CD was completed at Crystal Studios in New Jersey, before and after OVERKILL's successful stint on the Gigantour, which also featured MEGADETH and LAMB OF GOD. Mike Koenig from Crystal Studios engineered.

Shock jocks Opie and Anthony have been among the band's first supporters, as the duo has featured THE CURSED music on both their web site as well as their radio show. And according to Mediabase, since "Evil, in the Bag" was first serviced to radio in February, the song has been heard by an estimated 60,000 people.

The buzz on THE CURSED will only grow stronger in the coming months, as nationwide teaser ads in print (magazines and newspapers) have been running for months and will continue to run. Heavy Internet promotion and ad banners will also appear through genre-specific sites, as well as the Myspace and Screaming Ferret Wreckords sites. Also, the video for "Evil, in the Bag" will be serviced to all online outlets, with MTV2's "Headbanger's Ball" having expressed positive feedback to multiple spins.

"Room Full of Sinners" track listing:

01. Sweeter
02. Evil, in the Bag
03. Breaking Her Down
04. Best of the Worst
05. Native Tongue
06. Serpentine Slither
07. All's Right
08. Leven Als God in Frankrijk
09. One Time
10. Queen of the Down
11. Generate Her

For more information, go to

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).