THE DARK ELEMENT Feat. Former NIGHTWISH Singer, Ex-SONATA ARCTICA Guitarist: 'The Ghost And The Reaper' Video

November 10, 2017

THE DARK ELEMENT, the new musical project featuring former NIGHTWISH vocalist Anette Olzon and Finnish guitarist and songwriter Jani Liimatainen, has released the official music video for the song "The Ghost And The Reaper". The track is taken from THE DARK ELEMENT's self-titled debut album, which is being released today (Friday, November 10) via Frontiers Music Srl.

Since word of this project got out, fans have been frothing at the mouth with anticipation for its arrival. And no wonder considering the talent involved! Anette is widely known for being the immaculate voice on the hit albums from NIGHTWISH, "Dark Passion Play" and "Imaginareum". Jani has recently been busy in CAIN'S OFFERING alongside STRATOVARIUS singer Timo Kotipelto, but left a deep mark on the minds of all power metal fans thanks to his time in SONATA ARCTICA.

Said Liimatainen: "I have always been a big fan of Anette's voice and when the opportunity to work with her arose, writing and producing an album, it was something I just couldn't say no! It has been a blast working on the songs and I can't wait for everyone to hear the final result. This will be epic! The songs are extremely melodic and to the point. My goal has been to write catchy songs with hooks that will haunt your dreams, and I think it's pretty much 'mission accomplished.' Stay tuned for something special!"

Olzon told The Noise Beneath The Snow about THE DARK ELEMENT: "It's a great thing I'm very happy I am a part of. When I was asked to do this project, I had no idea of how Jani's songs would sound, so it was a bit of a gamble until I heard the first demo and I could relax, 'cause I immediately heard it would be a great album. And it's been a positive vibe from both magazines and fans so far, so I hope it will be a big success, of course."

Regarding how her involvement with THE DARK ELEMENT came about, Anette told Metal Temple: "I had done vocals on one of Frontiers bands, SECRET SPHERE, and got a question from them if I'd be interested in singing on a whole studio album project with Jani. I had never heard his songs, so I hesitated at first since he is a Finn [laughs], but my husband said he thought I'd give it a go and, well, I'm very happy I did now. For me, this is a fun little project on the side that grew to be something really good and I hope Jani and me can do more albums, 'cause he is just an amazing songwriter who really captured what my voice is capable of doing."

"The Dark Element" track listing:

01. The Dark Element
02. My Sweet Mystery
03. Last Good Day
04. Here's To You
05. Someone You Used To Know
06. Dead To Me
07. Halo
08. I Cannot Raise The Dead
09. The Ghost And The Reaper
10. Heaven Of Your Heart
11. Only One Who Knows Me


Anette Olzon - Lead Vocals
Jani Liimatainen - Guitars, Keyboards, Programming
Jonas Kuhlberg - Bass
Jani "Hurtsi" Hurula - Drums

* Piano on "Someone You Used to Know" and "Heaven of Your Heart" by Jarkko Lahti
* Backing vocals by Anette Olzon, Petri Aho, Anssi Stenberg and Jani Liimatainen
* Growls on "Dead To Me" by Niilo Sevänen

Find more on Nightwish
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email