THE FERRYMEN Feat. RAINBOW Singer, PRIMAL FEAR Guitarist: 'A New Evil' Album Due In October

August 1, 2019

Frontiers Music Srl will release THE FERRYMEN's sophomore album, titled "A New Evil", on October 11. The band, featuring guitarist Magnus Karlsson (MAGNUS KARLSSON'S FREE FALL, PRIMAL FEAR),vocalist Ronnie Romero (RAINBOW, LORDS OF BLACK) and drummer Mike Terrana (TARJA, RAGE, AXEL RUDI PELL, VISION DIVINE),has also released a music video for the title track.

THE FERRYMEN released its debut album in June 2017 and took fans of the European melodic metal sound by surprise as it seemingly came out of nowhere. With songwriting and fretwork handled by Karlsson, the awesome vocals of Romero, and Terrana bringing the heavy metal thunder, the band quickly found its home in the hearts of fans of the classic DIO sound combined with heavier, updated songwriting textures and arrangements.

Musically, fans can expect in "A New Evil" a very heavy, melodic metal album fusing the songwriting and epic structures of the widely praised ALLEN/LANDE records (Karlsson was the main architect of the first three critically acclaimed releases) with the powerful vocal approach of Romero (let's not forget that Romero was hand-picked by legendary DEEP PURPLE and RAINBOW guitarist Ritchie Blackmore to be the lead vocalist for RAINBOW's recent reunion shows). True heavy metal fans are of course quite familiar with the well regarded Terrana and what his drumming skill set brings to the table on a heavy metal album of this nature. And what metal album would be complete without some stunning artwork? Renowned artist Stan W. Decker's album cover rounds out this colossal heavy metal offering.

"'A New Evil' is a bit heavier and more progressive," says Karlsson. "I'm always learning and try to improve my songs and productions each time out. Working with Ronnie and Mike is a such a great experience. I can concentrate on the writing and whatever I will come up with I know they will nail it! This time Jacob Hansen (PRETTY MAIDS, VOLBEAT, etc.) did the mix and it works really well with the heavy style."

"I think it's a great album and people are gonna love it as they did with the first one," adds Romero. "Everybody knows Magnus's skills to write great music, so it's really easy to like every song on the album. This time was maybe even easier to work together because is the second album and we know each other better, he knew how to get my best performances, so I'm very proud about my work and grateful to have Magnus working side by side with me."

"I have a few favorites like 'Don't Stand In My Way', 'Bring Me Home', and 'A New Evil'. But a very special song for me is 'No Matter How Hard We Fall'. When you hear Ronnie in that chorus you will get goosebumps," continues Magnus. Ronnie's favorite is 'Bring Me Home', but I'm really looking forward to when people can hear the whole album because I'm sure they are gonna love every second of music on it!"

"A New Evil" track listing:

01. Don't Stand In My Way
02. Bring Me Home
03. A New Evil
04. The Night People Rise
05. Save Your Prayers
06. Heartbeat
07. Your Own Hero
08. No Matter How Hard We Fall
09. My Dearest Fear
10. You Against The World
11. All We Got

Find more on Rainbow
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email