THE OBSESSED Announces Reissue Of Legendary Self-Titled Debut Album And 'Concrete Cancer' Demo

September 19, 2017

Originally released in 1990 and out of print for almost two decades, the legendary debut album from doom godfathers THE OBSESSED will once again see the light of day in multiple deluxe formats. Now completely remastered with previously unreleased bonus tracks, including the highly sought-after "Concrete Cancer" demo, expanded artwork, never-before-seen photos and extended liner notes from frontman Scott "Wino" Weinrich, this is the definitive edition of THE OBSESSED's self-titled debut, a true piece of doom history!

Weinrich commented: "This record defines the passion, the pureness and vibrancy of youth, and the fierce love, loyalty and dedication to this music. I am happy and proud it lives once again! Thanks to all who believe."

Listen to the remastered version of "The Way She Fly" below.

The self-titled deluxe 2CD includes a bonus disc containing thepreviously unreleased four-track "Concrete Cancer" demo from 1984 and a full live set from 1985 in Washington, D.C., both fully remastered!

THE OBSESSED's self-titled reissue is due out November 17 on 2xCD / LP / 2xLP / digital via Relapse Records.

THE OBSESSED kicks off its U.S. fall tour on September 27 in Asheville, North Carolina, ending on October 27 in Baltimore, Maryland. Direct support will be provided by COBALT and IRON TONGUE on select dates. The band has also announced additional U.S. winter tour dates with CLUTCH and DEVIN TOWNSEND PROJECT.

"The Obsessed" reissue track listing:

01. Tombstone Highway
02. The Way She Fly
03. Forever Midnight
04. Ground Out
05. Fear Child
06. Freedom
07. Red Disaster
08. Inner Turmoil
09. River of Soul
10. Concrete Cancer (1984 Unreleased Concrete Cancer Demo Cassette)
11. Feelingz (1984 Unreleased Concrete Cancer Demo Cassette)
12. Mental Kingdom (1984 Unreleased Concrete Cancer Demo Cassette)
13. Hiding Masque (1984 Unreleased Concrete Cancer Demo Cassette)
14. Ground Out - Feelingz (Live at The Bayou 4-15-1985)
15. Concrete Cancer (Live at The Bayou 4-15-1985)
16. No Blame (Live at The Bayou 4-15-1985)
17. Mental Kingdom (Live at The Bayou 4-15-1985)
18. Tombstone Highway (Live at The Bayou 4-15-1985)
19. Iron and Stone (Live at The Bayou 4-15-1985)
20. Rivers of Soul (Live at The Bayou 4-15-1985)
21. Sittin on a Grave (Live at The Bayou 4-15-1985)
22. Freedom (Live at The Bayou 4-15-1985)
23. Indestroy - Kill Ugly Naked (Live at The Bayou 4-15-1985)

"Concrete Cancer" demo track listing:

01. Concrete Cancer
02. Feelingz
03. Mental Kingdom
04. Hiding Masque

THE OBSESSED's first studio album in over twenty years, "Sacred", was released on April 7 via Relapse Records.

Find more on The obsessed
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email