THE WHO's Career-Spanning Documentary 'Amazing Journey: The Story Of The Who' Available On THE CODA COLLECTION

July 14, 2021

"Amazing Journey: The Story Of The Who", the acclaimed Grammy-nominated career-spanning documentary chronicling the history of THE WHO, is now available to stream for the first time exclusively on The Coda Collection.

Directed by Murray Lerner and Paul Crowder, and featuring interviews with the group's co-founders and surviving members Pete Townshend and Roger Daltrey, "Amazing Journey" is the definitive story of the British rock legends. Including rare and previously unseen footage, a treasure trove of performance clips and investigative forays into the group's music and history, the film captures the band's origins and influence over the course of their 50-plus-year career.

"Amazing Journey" also documents pivotal moments in the band's trajectory, including the emergence of 1960s mod culture, the group's reputation for destroying their instruments on-stage, how their hit "I Can't Explain" got them a record deal on the spot, embracing new formats with their rock opera opus "Tommy", the sudden deaths of Keith Moon and John Entwistle, the delicate creative relationship between Daltrey and Townshend, the group's historic appearance at The Concert For New York benefit in 2001, and much more. In addition to in-depth interviews with Townshend and Daltrey, the film features commentary from industry figures associated with the band's career, as well as musical peers Eddie Vedder, Noel Gallagher, Sting, The Edge, Steve Jones and more.

"It's not easy to capture in film the power and energy of any rock band, especially the four characters that made up THE WHO, the brilliance of Pete Townshend's music, and the magic that happened between Pete, John, Keith and myself. But WHO fans tell me 'Amazing Journey' does just that," THE WHO's Roger Daltrey said. "From the moment that Keith joined us in The Railway Hotel back in 1964, it was like a bottle of champagne being uncorked. We just clicked. And here we are, all these years later — we've lost our dear bandmates Keith and John, and Pete and I continue to play together and carry this story forward. Thanks to Coda for putting this show up, and enjoy this film about our journey. I'm still living it!"

The Coda Collection has also debuted "Six Quick Ones", a complementary piece featuring six mini-documentaries which offer an extended profile of each band member and further explore the group's unique musical chemistry.

Launched at the beginning of 2021, The Coda Collection is a subscription streaming offering featuring an exclusive, curated selection of the most iconic music documentaries, concert films, and episodic series spanning decades and genres via Amazon Prime video channels paired with a complementary website exploring new perspectives on music. The Coda Collection offers hundreds of hours of exclusive concert and documentary content from artists ranging from such legendary icons as Jimi Hendrix, THE ROLLING STONES and John Lennon and Yoko Ono to contemporary premieres of new material by such diverse artists as EVANESCENCE, JANE'S ADDICTION, THE CURE and the critically acclaimed Dave Grohl-directed documentary "What Drives Us".

The Coda Collection is available to Amazon Prime members in the U.S. now for $4.99 per month, with a free seven-day trial, and will roll out globally throughout the rest of the year.

To explore The Coda Collection and to sign up for a free seven-day trial, visit

Find more on The who
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).