TOM GABRIEL WARRIOR's TRIUMPH OF DEATH Announces Live Album 'Resurrection Of The Flesh'

September 20, 2023

The impact of Swiss extreme metal forefathers HELLHAMMER is one that still resonates around the global metal scene today, such was their influence on the early extreme, death, and black metal genres. In the 40 years that have passed since their humble beginnings in Nurensdorf, Switzerland, in May 1982, they have gained a mythically iconic status despite existing for a mere two years. However, the band left a highly influential body of work behind, including the three demos "Death Fiend", "Satanic Rites" and "Triumph Of Death" (al re-released in 2008 as the "Demon Entrails" demo retrospective),the seminal "Apocalyptic Raids" EP, and two tracks from the legendary "Death Metal" compilation. In light of this legacy, it is almost inconceivable that HELLHAMMER never performed this music on stage.

CELTIC FROST, the successor group formed by HELLHAMMER founding member Tom Gabriel Fischer (a.k.a. Tom Gabriel Warrior) and former HELLHAMMER bassist Martin Eric Ain, would sporadically play a HELLHAMMER song or two, and Warrior's current band, TRIPTYKON, have played the occasional HELLHAMMER song live, but the vast body of HELLHAMMER's work remained unperformed, until the inception of TRIUMPH OF DEATH. In 2019 Tom Gabriel Warrior stated: "HELLHAMMER will never return and will never be reformed. It is absolutely impossible to reform a band so closely linked to a very specific and unique period in time. But HELLHAMMER's music exists, and it is an extremely important part of my life's path. And I would like to play it onstage before my demise."

The resurrection of the music of HELLHAMMER had been an idea Tom Gabriel Warrior and Martin Eric Ain discussed for many years, sparked not least by their renewed collaboration in the reformed CELTIC FROST in the 2000s. The first steps towards the realization of TRIUMPH OF DEATH, named after HELLHAMMER's most infamous song and intended to be a very respectful and authentic tribute to HELLHAMMER, were finally taken in 2014, and the band was officially founded in autumn of 2018. TRIUMPH OF DEATH consists of individuals who not only love the music in question but truly understand it. The lineup emulates HELLHAMMER's final incarnation of April/May 1984, when the group had added an additional guitarist. To date TRIUMPH OF DEATH has performed numerous notable concerts globally and has brought the seminal music of HELLHAMMER to fans both old and new, many of whom thought they may never see it live on stage.

Due on November 10 via Noise/BMG, TRIUMPH OF DEATH's debut live release, "Resurrection Of The Flesh", is the culmination of three concerts. Recorded in the spring of 2023 at Hell's Heroes festival in Houston USA, Dark Easter Metal Meeting in Munich, Germany and SWR Barroselas Metal Fest in Portugal, the album was produced by Tom Gabriel Warrior and TRIPTYKON's V. Santura. The record captures the band at their primeval finest; raw, foreboding and heavy. The songs may date back four decades but here they are revealed to be still just as vital today as when they were written in the band's infamous rehearsal bunker in the rural village of Birchwil, Switzerland in the early 1980s. From the thunderous opening chords of "Third Of The Storms (Evoked Damnation)" to the malevolent, morbid feedback of set closer "Triumph Of Death", this album is a sixty-minute document of the overwhelming power of the live performance of TRIUMPH OF DEATH, and it captures the spirit and intensity of these historic songs that have transcended decades to become revered and timeless.

Warrior says: "This album is, most importantly, testament to the unique connection that exists between the audience and this band. hellhammer's music was an underground token in 1982 to 1984, often ridiculed and shunned, and we owe the fact that we are now able to perform it all across the globe entirely to grace, openness, and enthusiasm of those who make exactly these concerts possible. They give us as much as we given them, and my gratitude to them knows no limits."


Tom Gabriel Warrior - voice/guitar
André Mathieu - guitar/vocals
Jamie Lee Cussigh - bass
Tim Iso Wey - drums

"Resurrection Of The Flesh" track listing:

01. The Third Of The Storms (Evoked Damnation)
02. Massacra
03. Maniac
04. Blood Insanity
05. Decapitator
06. Crucifixion
07. Reaper
08. Horus/Aggressor
09. Revelations Of Doom
10. Messiah
11. Visions Of Mortality
12. Triumph Of Death

Bonus 7" song (super deluxe edition only)

13. Decapitator (Live In Houston)

Find more on Celtic frost
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).