TOOL Bassist JUSTIN CHANCELLOR's MTVOID Project Announces 'Matter's Knot, Pt. 1' Album

September 6, 2023

MTVOID, the duo featuring TOOL's Justin Chancellor and SWEET NOISE/SERCE vocalist Peter Mohamed, will release its sophomore album, "Matter's Knot, Pt. 1", on November 10 via Lobal Orning.

"'Matter's Knot, Pt. 1' is our pan-dynamic tapestry of sound and thought, twisted together and pulled taut, a connection of ideas remotely fused between Los Angeles, California and Swarzędz, Poland," Chancellor explains.

News of the seven-song, independently produced album's forthcoming arrival comes with the release of "MaBeLu" and its Jimmy Hayward-directed video.

Mohamed shares the inspiration behind the track: "It all started with a child weeping. I heard it very early in between the notes, in between the noises. It was a fragile process that took me to all of those places that come crashing down, places that burn down to the ground leaving broken humans; lonely and sad children. It was at the time of the huge explosion in Beirut, and I was channeling my energy and trying to put myself in the mind of this child watching the catastrophe from under the ruins. The sound, the bass, the noises, and the beat all started to tell the story. Apocalypse Now… seeing the reality through the eye of cataclysm... I still believe we will get through this… we are falling off the cliff… Humanity needs that. This art drops right on the top of the wave that comes crashing and bringing the greatest transformation of our times. It's terrifying and fascinating at the same time. 'MaBeLu,' I love you. I believe in you, and I will see you on the other side. Be strong."

"Matter's Knot, Pt. 1" pre-orders are available now, with the album available on a trio of hyper limited-edition, 180g vinyl variants: glass bottle green, a Revolver-exclusive metallic swirl and standard black, as well as CD and digitally.

The album also includes contributions from friends of Chancellor and Mohamed: Aric Improta (NIGHT VERSES, ex-FEVER 333) on "Propagator", Isabel Munoz-Newsome of PUMAROSA on "Drop-Out", and Andy Morin (DEATH GRIPS),who contributed drums and production to "Scanner Void". Revolver described the early album preview as "a brief, two-and-a-half-minute low-rumbling tune that uses laser-like synths and sharp licks to form a dynamic journey through textural soundscapes and subconscious musings. DEATH GRIPS producer and guest musician Andy Morin adds depth with his drum and synth licks while Mohamed's gravelly voice warns, 'They are scanning your soul.'"

"Matter's Knot, Pt. 1" track listing:

01. Death Survives
02. Lilt
03. Propagator
04. Drop-Out
05. Scanner Void
06. MaBeLu
07. Magmaficent

An unpredictable-yet-undeniable call-and-response between two lifelong musicians and friends powers MTVOID. As the vision of Peter Mohamed (vocals, production, programming) and Justin Chancellor (bass, guitar, production, vocals),the music thrives on an intense creative conversation between its founders. In one breath, future-facing beat-craft incites a warbling bass transmission only to underline an ominous vocal exorcism awash in glitchy distortion. Adrenaline swings in pendulous motion through grinding industrial soundscapes, inventive production architecture, metallic accents, and haunting poetic musings.

Not long after Justin joined TOOL, he met Peter backstage at a European festival on tour in the mid-1990s. At the time, Peter fronted seminal Polish alternative outfit SWEET NOISE, building a cult audience through a series of boundary breaking albums and immersive performances. Upon their introduction to one another, he and Justin instantly bonded over music, art and life in general. While Peter visited Los Angeles a few years later, the guys locked into a creative flow and recorded MTVOID's 2013 debut, "Nothing's Matter". Sung exclusively in Polish, it boasted a guest appearance from MASTODON guitarist Brent Hinds and mastering by the legendary Bob Ludwig, introducing an inimitable vision in the process. In the midst of the pandemic, they picked up where they left off. Co-producing, they collaborated remotely and gently expanded the sonic vision with Justin not only on bass, but also guitar and even on vocals for one track. Meanwhile, Peter delivers his provocative lyrics in Polish, English and Arabic.

Photo credit: Scott Dachroeden

Find more on Tool
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).