TRENT REZNOR Offering Free Five-Song EP From 'The Social Network' Soundtrack

September 17, 2010

NINE INCH NAILS mainman Trent Reznor and collaborator Atticus Ross recently composed the score for the upcoming movie "The Social Network". The much-hyped new film from "Seven" and "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" director David Fincher follows the controversial story of Mark Zuckerberg, the young man who created Facebook. Jesse Eisenberg plays Zuckerberg, while the rest of the cast for the October 1 release includes Justin Timberlake, Rashida Jones, Rooney Mara and the new Spider-Man, Andrew Garfield.

"The Social Network" soundtrack track listing:

01. Hand Covers Bruise
02. In Motion
03. A Familiar Taste
04. It Catches Up With You
05. Intriguing Possibilities
06. Painted Sun In Abstract
07. 3:14 Every Night
08. Pieces Form the Whole
09. Carbon Prevails
10. Eventually We Find Our Way
11. Penetration
12. In The Hall of the Mountain King
13. On We March
14. Magnetic
15. Almost Home
16. Hand Covers Bruise, Reprise
17. Complication with Optimistic Outcome
18. The Gentle Hum of Anxiety
19. Soft Trees Break the Fall

A free five-track EP of music from "The Social Network" has been made available online at

You can pre-order standard CD, Blu-ray (audio-only 5.1 Surround and high-resolution stereo) and two-disc 180-gram vinyl formats now. All pre-orders include an instant five-song sampler download and a full digital album delivered by e-mail on September 28. Standalone digital will be available for purchase exclusively on Amazon MP3 at a promotional rate of $2.99 for a 48-hour period starting 12:01 a.m. PT on September 28. Digital purchases will begin on September 30 at 12:01 a.m. PT.

In an online post, Reznor wrote, "This is what Atticus and I have been working on for the last few months.

"We had a great time working with David Fincher on this and the film turned out excellent — something we’re very proud of. It opens in theatres October 1 and you should check it out.

"Musically, this all came out of our secret laboratory — electronic in basis, but mostly organic sounding. Lots of experiments and emphasis on sound fraying around the edges while focusing on the proper emotional tone for the various scenes.

"Regarding the purchase options, sorry about the 'clunkiness' of not offering the full-record digital download pre-sale (and having to visit Amazon). My agenda was to be able to offer this for the lowest possible price and this was the best way to achieve that. Amazon has been a great partner with past projects and I appreciate your understanding."

Fincher used the NINE INCH NAILS song "Closer" in the classic opening credit sequence of "Seven" and has spoken in the past about collaborating with Reznor on a stage musical version of his film "Fight Club".

HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS, Reznor's new project with his wife Mariqueen Maandig and Ross, released its self-titled debut digital EP earlier in the year. A full-length album is slated to arrive in 2011.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).