TRIPTYKON To Release 'Requiem (Live At Roadburn 2019)' Featuring The Metropole Orkest

March 9, 2020

Swiss avant-garde extreme metal band TRIPTYKON will release "Requiem (Live At Roadburn 2019)" on May 15 via Prowling Death Records/Century Media Records. The release will be available for pre-order in various formats starting March 20.

"Requiem (Live At Roadburn 2019)" marks the bombastic conclusion of a project over 30 years in the making: The legendary CELTIC FROST/TRIPTYKON "Requiem" performed for the first time in its entirety and with full classical orchestration by the Dutch Metropole Orkest.

"We are truly, deeply delighted to be able to have been granted the opportunity to finish this unique project begun by CELTIC FROST so many years ago, and to finally share the completed recording with the world," Tom Gabriel Warrior states about the release. "This album is the result of two years of passionate work, and it marks the conclusion of a musical idea first considered over three decades ago. Moreover, this 'Requiem' also represents drummer Hannes Grossmann's first recording with TRIPTYKON, and we are very proud to feature him in such an extraordinary context. It was an incredible honor to collaborate with the Metropole Orkest, conductor Jukka Iisakkila, guest vocalist Safa Heraghi, and the esteemed Roadburn festival. In fact, there couldn't have been a better partner for the 'Requiem' project than Roadburn. We are releasing this 'Requiem' album in memoriam of our deeply missed friends and collaborators Martin Eric Ain and HR Giger."

"Requiem" (46:00 min.) is composed of three chapters:

01. "Rex Irae" (06:34 min.) (First appeared on 1987's "Into The Pandemonium" album by CELTIC FROST)
02. "Grave Eternal" (32:28 min.) (Newly written middle part)
03. "Winter" (06:54 min.) (First appeared on 2006's "Monotheist" album by CELTIC FROST)

This unique and groundbreaking release is available in the following formats:

* Special Edition CD + DVD Mediabook
* Limited Gatefold LP + DVD (With LP-Booklet and 2x poster)
Unlimited black 180g. vinyl and selected limited colored editions
* Standard CD Jewelcase
* Limited Deluxe Artbook with coloured LP + CD + DVD + coloured 7-inch (With bonus track, score book of 60 pages, 3x poster, artprint and photocard)
* Digital album

"Requiem"'s main cover art is titled "Blood Angel" and was created by Daniele Valeriani.

TRIPTYKON "Requiem" lineup (from left to right in photo by Ester Segarra):

Tom Gabriel Warrior - voice, guitar
Hannes Grossmann - drums, percussion
Vanja Slajh - bass, vocals
V. Santura - guitar, vocals

Special guest:

Safa Heraghi - "Requiem live co-lead vocalist

Find more on Triptykon
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).