TRIUMPH To Celebrate 20th Anniversary Of US FESTIVAL With Live DVD/CD

August 14, 2003

The Canadian hard-rock trio TRIUMPH will mark the 20th anniversary of the legendary US Festival with separate DVD and CD releases, "Live At The US Festival", on TML Entertainment Inc., distributed by Alternative Distribution Alliance, on September 23, 2003.

TRIUMPH — vocalist/guitarist Rik Emmett, bassist/keyboardist Mike Levine and vocalist/drummer Gil Moore — were an integral part of what became known as the US Festival's "Heavy Metal Sunday" on May 29, 1983. The three-day US Festival, which was conceived and produced by Apple Computers co-founder Steve Wozniak, was held May 28-30, 1983, at Glen Helen Park in San Bernardino County, California, 60 miles southeast of Los Angeles. An estimated crowd of more than 500,000 people attended "Heavy Metal Sunday." In addition to TRIUMPH's explosive performance, the huge crowd also rocked to VAN HALEN, SCORPIONS, OZZY OSBOURNE, JUDAS PRIEST, MOTLEY CRUE and QUIET RIOT.

"It was awesome. We just stood there and couldn't see the end of the crowd. We'd played sold-out stadium concerts before, but nothing like this," says Levine. "The day before the US Festival we were playing for 55,000 people at the Tangerine Bowl in Orlando, Florida, with ZZ TOP and SAMMY HAGAR. We had to switch slots with Sammy and cut our set a little short so that we could make it to the airport and catch the only flight to Los Angeles.

"We played great and there were no serious logistical problems. They flew us to the show by chopper and it was unbelievable how massive the site and the fans looked from the air. The DVD has lots of these incredible shots and working on this DVD and CD brought back all the great visual memories I have of the event."

The "Live At The US Festival" DVD has been remixed in 5.1 Surround Sound and features three audio options: DTS, 5.1 Dolby Digital and 2.0 Dolby Digital. Special bonuses include a new 2003 interview with Levine and Moore, the music videos for "Spellbound" and "Follow Your Heart" (both of which have also been remixed in 5.1 Surround Sound) and the 40-minute documentary "Inside the Rock & Roll Machine" which gives a behind-the-scenes look at TRIUMPH's legendary arena rock shows.

The "Live At The US Festival" CD has also been carefully remixed and mastered to properly capture TRIUMPH's electrifying performance. The CD package also contains a limited edition bonus DVD with "Fight the Good Fight" taken from the "Live At The US Festival" DVD, a live version of "Spellbound" and the music video of "Follow Your Heart" from forthcoming TRIUMPH releases.

The track listing for TRIUMPH's complete US Festival show is the same for both the DVD and CD:

01. Allied Forces
02. Lay It On the Line
03. Never Surrender
04. Magic Power
05. A World of Fantasy
06. Rock & Roll Machine
07. When the Lights Go Down
08. Fight the Good Fight

TRIUMPH formed in Toronto in 1975 and quickly built a worldwide reputation for their music which combined power and melody. With Emmett and Moore sharing lead vocals, it gave the band greater depth, and Emmett, Moore and Levine all enjoyed individual acclaim for their instrumental prowess. The band's albums include "Triumph", "Rock & Roll Machine", "Just a Game", "Progressions of Power", "Allied Forces", "Never Surrender", "Thunder Seven", "The Sport of Kings", "Surveillance", the double live "Stages" and the compilation "Classics". "Allied Forces" was certified platinum and "Just a Game", "Never Surrender", "Thunder Seven" and "Classics" were certified gold for sales in the United States. The singles "Hold On" and "Somebody's Out There" were Top 40 hits.

The band delivered the goods on their albums, but TRIUMPH were also known for their amazing concerts. In addition to killer musical performances, the sold-out shows featured innovative state-of-the-art lighting, laser and pyrotechnic effects that were nothing short of breathtaking.

TRIUMPH gave its all to the fans, and, with a half a million rockers as witnesses, TRIUMPH once again delivered, this time on the world stage. The "Live At The US Festival" DVD and CD captures that and a whole lot more, while preserving one of the biggest and best-known rock festivals in history.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).