Video Premiere: EMMURE's 'Like LaMotta'

April 7, 2014

"Like LaMotta", the new video from the Queens, New York-based deathcore act EMMURE, can be seen below. The song is taken from the band's seventh full-length album, "Eternal Enemies", which will be released on April 15 via Victory Records. According to a press release, the CD "is without a doubt the most aggressive, brutal and devastating of [album of the band's] career."

"Eternal Enemies" pre-order packages are now available exclusively through

Various "Eternal Enemies" packages, starting at $22.00, include your choice of limited-edition colored vinyl or CD, exclusive "Enemy Lines" DVD, t-shirts, crewneck, hoodie, beanie, bandana, 3' x 5' flag and more.

The "Enemy Lines" DVD features over 30 minutes of behind-the-scenes and in-studio footage of the band making "Eternal Enemies" along with EMMURE's entire music video catalog featuring eight official music videos from previous releases, one lyric video, and two brand new music videos for "Like Lamotta" and "Nemesis". This DVD will be available only in the "Eternal Enemies" package deals on

In a recent interview with, EMMURE rhythm guitarist Jesse Ketive stated about "Eternal Enemies": "Every record is a different piece of artwork, and, you know, we'll try to write an album one way, or another way to try and make things happen. But I do think that this one came together the best. Everyone really got more inputs, and everyone's ideas were really put out more on here. I think this one is the best, as far as the quality of writing goes and how we feel about it."

Regarding EMMURE's decision to rename the opening song to the album, "Bring A Gun To School", Ketive said: "It's being released as 'Untitled'. Long story short, some people would perceive it as a bad thing, or as if we're trying to knock on school shootings, which is how it started out when we released it, or maybe that stores won't put our CD in there store, or that certain sponsorships might not want to deal with that, so we just changed up. And this just drives us more when people talk about us, even when it's bad talking."

He continued: "At first I did take [the title] as offensive, because I didn't understand, and then I read the explanation and see what it is and where it's coming from and how it's pretty much just testament to how people get sore to anything you do or say. He [EMMURE singer Frankie Palmeri] decided, Well, I'm just gonna say this,' as it was more personal, about getting bullied, and not about knocking on school shootings, which is what most people would think at first."

"Eternal Enemies" track listing:

01. Untitled
02. Nemesis
03. N.I.A. (News In Arizona)
04. The Hang Up
05. A Gift A Curse
06. E
07. Like LaMotta
08. Free Publicity
09. Most Hated
10. Grave Markings
11. Hitomi's Shinobi
12. Rat King
13. Girls Don't Like Boys, Girls Like 40s And Blunts
14. New Age Rambler
15. We Were Just Kids

EMMURE is headlining the Mosh Lives! Tour with support from VOLUMES, THY ART IS MURDER, GIDEON and SWORN IN. The trek kicked off on March 7.

EMMURE's fifth full-length album, "Slave To The Game", was released in April 2012 via Victory Records. The CD was recorded with producer Joey Sturgis (ASKING ALEXANDRIA, THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA),who previously worked with the band on 2011's "Speaker Of The Dead".

"Slave To The Game" marked the recording debut of EMMURE's new drummer, Mark Costillo, who has previously played with BETWEEN THE BURIED AND ME and BURY YOUR DEAD.


Find more on Emmure
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email