VOIVOD: 'Tatsumaki: Voivod In Japan 2008' DVD Due In November

October 6, 2009

"Tatsumaki: Voivod in Japan 2008", a brand new DVD from Canadian metal innovators VOIVOD, will be released on November 17 via MVD Entertainment Group. The disc will contain professionally filmed footage (three-camera shoot) of VOIVOD's September 20, 2008 concert at Club Citta in Kawasaki, Japan. The band was in Japan taking part in the two-night Thrash Domination 2008 event alongside TESTAMENT and FORBIDDEN.

The track listing is as follows:

* Voivod
* The Prow
* The Unknown Knows
* Ravenous Medicine
* Overreaction
* Tribal Convictions
* Tornado
* Panorama
* Nuclear War
* Nothingface
* Brain Scan
* Astronomy Domine

Bonus Materials:

* Live in Quebec City (July 2009) performing:

01. Panorama
02. Treasure Chase
03. Tornado

* Interview with Dave Grohl
* "Panorama: Seeking Voivod" (unreleased French mini doc film with English subtitles)
* Trip Photos

A clip of the "Voivod" performance from the "Tatsumaki: Voivod in Japan 2008" DVD can be viewed below.

Band lineup for Kawasaki, Japan concert:

Denis "Snake" Belanger - Vocals
Michel "Away" Langevin - Drums
Jean-Yves "Blacky" Theriault - Bass
Dan Mongrain (MARTYR) - Guitar

"This is the most bad-ass band I ever heard in my life. Every musician has a signature, VOIVOD had four. VOIVOD sounded like no one else. They are one of a kind." - Dave Grohl (FOO FIGHTERS, NIRVANA)

"Infini", the latest album from VOIVOD, landed at position No. 67 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

VOIVOD's final album featuring the group's late guitarist, Denis "Piggy" D'Amour, "Infini" was released in the U.S. on June 23 via Relapse Records. The CD, which was issued in Europe via Nuclear Blast, contains the last thirteen songs written by Piggy and again features bassist Jason "Jasonic" Newsted (ex-METALLICA). Jason played bass on all the songs and mixed the album, which was released as a deluxe, digipack CD and was also issued on vinyl as a double LP.

"Infini" was built from the final songs created by the band with D'Amour. All his original demo guitar tracks appear as they were recorded — with no re-amping and no overdubs; just Piggy as he played the tracks he envisioned in his small bachelor apartment, the amp in the bathroom, capturing his performance with the laptop given to him by Jason.

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email