W.A.S.P.'s BLACKIE LAWLESS: I Will Never Play 'Animal (F**k Like A Beast)' Again

October 30, 2009

Norway's FVN.no conducted an interview we did with W.A.S.P. mainman Blackie Lawless before the band's October 29, 2009 performance in Kristiansand. Blackie talks about his faith, why he doesnt "do the blood" anymore and why he will never perform the song "Animal (Fuck Like A Beast)" again. Watch the chat below (Windows Media). A couple of excerpts follow.

On having a pretty basic live show nowadays:

Blackie: "What you're saying is: Are you doing the blood anymore? No, I'm not doing it. I don't need that anymore, because when you're trying to get a message across to people, the image of that early show spoke so loudly, people were listening with their eyes and not their ears. We did what we thought was abstract art and we were trying to make social comment within that, and no one was getting the social comment; they thought, 'Oh, it's a shock-rock band.' We've never considered ourselves a shock-rock band, and to be honest, even to this day, I resent that; I don't like being considered that. But I understand that the eyes are the dominant sense, and so if you're going to try and get your message across, sometimes you have to simplify it to be able to do that."

On not playing "Animal (Fuck Like A Beast)" live anymore:

Blackie: "We haven't done that song for several years. And it's totally because of my religious faith, and it's something that I don't want to do anymore, and I will never play that song again.

"What can I do to be a positive influence? So I'm looking at what I'm doing and I'm trying to create the best example that I can. I don't want 13-year-olds going around singing that song. If that's something they wanna do later in their life, that's their business. But, like I said, it's a question of faith and the religious conviction that I have."

On whether it means that he's not so proud of all the things he's done in his past:

Blackie: "Well, that would be one of them, but... You have to understand that I believe that I've been put here on this Earth to do a very specific thing. This album, 'Babylon', that we're doing now really talks about what's going on with the Book Of Revelation and the bible.

"Someone asked me the other day. They said, 'Are you a rock and roll preacher now?' I said, 'No. But I am a messenger.' And that's what my job is. So everything I did up to this point has led me to where I am now."

"Babylon", the new album from W.A.S.P., entered the U.K. "Rock Albums" chart at position No. 15.

"Babylon" was released on October 12 through Global Music (via Demolition Records). The CD is themed around biblical visions of "The Four Horseman of the Apocalypse," and is described in a press release as "a metal masterpiece that will make fans both old and new craving for more."

The track listing for the album is as follows:

01. Crazy
02. Live To Die Another Day
03. Babylon's Burning
04. Burn
05. Into The Fire
06. Thunder Red
07. Seas Of Fire
08. Godless Run
09. Promised Land

Audio samples of all the tracks that appear on "Babylon" are available at Amazon.co.uk.

"Crazy" was made available for download via various digital service providers from September 28.

Lawless commented on the track: "Although like it may sound like a man talking to a woman, 'Crazy' is about a performer talking to an audience; the dangers of idol worship and elevating musicians and politicians to a level that's dangerous!"

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).