W.E.T. Announces Fourth Studio Album 'Retransmission'; 'Big Boys Don't Cry' Video Available

November 15, 2020

Much to the delight of melodic rock fans around the globe, W.E.T. has announced the release of its fourth album, "Retransmission", on January 22, 2021 via Frontiers Music Srl. Core members Jeff Scott Soto, Erik Mårtensson, and Robert Säll deliver another astounding album that will surely be a contender for melodic rock album of the year in 2021. Fans can get their first taste of the new album with the single and video "Big Boys Don't Cry". Watch it below.

W.E.T. truly epitomizes what melodic rock has become in the new decade. The key element at the foundation of W.E.T. has always been to create a modern melodic hard rock sound that will drive the genre into the future. Combining powerhouse rhythms and top-notch production (courtesy of Erik Martensson),the music is equally classic and contemporary. "Retransmission" is nothing else than an absolute milestone, which is well in keeping with the tradition established by the three amazing records that have preceded this one.

The three core members of W.E.T.Soto, guitarist/songwriter/producer Erik Martensson (ECLIPSE, NORDIC UNION) and keyboardist/guitarist Robert Säll (WORK OF ART) — first joined forces in 2009 to record its self-titled debut. The band's sophomore effort, "Rise Up", surfaced in 2013, followed by the live CD/DVD "One Live - In Stockholm" in 2014.

In 2018, the band expanded to include drummer Robban Bäck (MUSTASCH) and guitarist Magnus Henriksson (ECLIPSE) and recorded "Earthrage". Its release was supported by a rare live performance at the following year's Frontiers Rock Festival VI in Milan, Italy.

"Retransmission" track listing:

01. Big Boys Don't Cry
02. The Moment Of Truth
03. The Call Of The Wild
04. Got To Be About Love
05. Beautiful Game
06. How Far To Babylon
07. Coming Home
08. What Are You Waiting For
09. You Better Believe It
10. How Do I Know
11. One Final Kiss


Jeff Scott Soto: Lead Vocals
Erik Martensson: All Rhythm Guitar, Some Lead Guitar, Backing Vocals & Keyboards
Robert Säll: Keys and guitar
Magnus Henriksson: Lead Guitar
Andreas Passmark: Bass Guitar
Robban Bäck: Drums

Martensson told Music Radar in 2018 that while W.E.T. has only played a handful of concerts to date, the band members hope to change that in the future.

"I agree that is isn't a band until it's played live," he said. "I'm personally fed up with a lot of these [studio] projects, because some of them are just stupid. It can be 10 different songwriters on one album. It's just done to get some money from the record label, and the label can sell it because of the names on the record. I don't consider those bands at all — it's really projects. I think NORDIC UNION [Martensson's side project with PRETTY MAIDS vocalist Ronnie Atkins] and W.E.T. are somewhere in the middle. While doing records, we are doing it like a band, with our own songs, with no outside writers at all. But I agree that until it's performed live, it's a not a real, proper band. Having said that, I've never seen LED ZEPPELIN live, but I still enjoy their records. There is value in just a record."

Find more on Talisman
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).