Watch METALLICA And Country Singer MICKEY GUYTON Rehearse 'Nothing Else Matters' Ahead Of GLOBAL CITIZEN FESTIVAL

October 3, 2022

Country singer Mickey Guyton joined METALLICA on stage on September 24 at the Global Citizen Festival in New York City's Central Park to perform the band's classic power ballad "Nothing Else Matters". On Sunday (October 2),Guyton took to her Twitter to share a video of her rehearsing with METALLICA for the Global Citizen appearance and discussing the collaboration on the night of the big event. In the clip, she can be seen saying: "I've listened to METALLICA as a little girl. I went and saw METALLICA at the Bridgestone Arena in 2012. And now I'm singing on stage at Global Citizen with motherfuckin' METALLICA. And I just… I've said a lot of words, but I don't have words to describe all those words. So I am just so excited. God is good."

"Finally a real singer," METALLICA frontman James Hetfield quipped while introducing Guyton, who belted through the song's verses and shared vocal lines with Hetfield on the track's chorus.

Professionally filmed video of Guyton's performance with METALLICA, which did not appear in the original rebroadcast, was uploaded to the Global Citizen YouTube channel on Friday (September 30) and can now be seen below.

After the concert, the 39-year-old gave METALLICA a shoutout on her social media channels. "There are no words," she captioned several pictures of the collaboration. "I'm just grateful."

Guyton previously covered "Nothing Else Matters" on the 2021 tribute album "The Metallica Blacklist", which celebrated the 30th anniversary of METALLICA's classic 1991 self-titled record. Guyton was one of ten singers or groups who sang "Nothing Else Matters" for the album. Aside from her, Elton John, MY MORNING JACKET and Chris Stapleton also recorded versions of the same song.

Global Citizen Festival: NYC was hosted by Bollywood star and Global Citizen ambassador Priyanka Chopra Jonas, who introduced METALLICA as "the greatest rock band in the world."

METALLICA kicked off the eight-song set off with "Creeping Death" and closed it with "Master Of Puppets", which recently saw new life after its inclusion in season four of Netflix's hit series "Stranger Things". The popularity of the 1986 song brought it to the Billboard Hot 100 chart for the first time ever in the band's lengthy career.

The setlist was as follows:

01. Creeping Death
02. For Whom The Bell Tolls
03. Enter Sandman
04. Sad But True
05. The Unforgiven
06. Wherever I May Roam
07. Nothing Else Matters (with Mickey Guyton)
08. Master Of Puppets

Last year, METALLICA's music video for "Nothing Else Matters" surpassed one billion views on YouTube. It was the first METALLICA track to reach the milestone.

The "Nothing Else Matters" video, which was uploaded to YouTube in October of 2009, was directed by Adam Dubin and edited by Sean Fullan and is made up of clips from the 1992 METALLICA documentary "A Year And A Half In The Life Of Metallica". The clip is perhaps best remembered for a scene where Lars Ulrich throws darts at a poster of WINGER frontman Kip Winger.

"Nothing Else Matters" reached position No. 11 on the Billboard Mainstream Rock Tracks chart as well as top-ten positions on many European charts.

"Nothing Else Matters" was featured as a playable track in the music video game "Guitar Hero: Metallica" and has been covered over 40 times by a host of different artists, including STAIND, Shakira, Bif Naked, Macy Gray, DIE KRUPPS, REV THEORY and APOCALYPTICA.

A never-heard-before, totally new and different version of "Nothing Else Matters" appears twice in Disney's movie "Jungle Cruise".

Find more on Metallica
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).