Watch: THE BLACK CROWES Reflect On Early Recording Sessions With Producer GEORGE DRAKOULIAS

November 21, 2023

In the eight-minute video below, THE BLACK CROWES' Rich and Chris Robinson reflect on some of their early recording sessions with producer George Drakoulias.

A deluxe reissue of THE BLACK CROWES' second album, "The Southern Harmony And Musical Companion", will arrive on December 15. The set will include previously unreleased studio recordings, rare B-sides and a live performance from 1993 at Houston's Sam Houston Coliseum.

"The Southern Harmony And Musical Companion" entered the U.S. Billboard album chart at No. 1 upon release in 1992, was named after a post-Civil War southern hymnal, and is home to some of the band's biggest hits, including "Remedy", "Sting Me" and "Thorn In My Pride", which were No. 1 on the Billboard Mainstream Rock Airplay chart for a combined total of 21 weeks. Rich and Chris, alongside George Drakoulias, revisited the archives for the instant classic album and created a special super deluxe edition featuring unreleased studio recordings, rare B-sides, a live performance from Sam Houston Coliseum in Houston, Texas on February 6, 1993, and a newly remastered album from the original 1/4" production master. Highlights for the forthcoming boxset include 14 unreleased recordings, including "99 Pounds" and a previously unreleased studio recording of "Miserable".

At the end of "The Southern Harmony And Musical Companion" recording sessions in early 1992, the band performed live on the famed Southern Tracks Studio floor in Atlanta, Georgia on January 4, 1992. The session was captured by a film crew and, true to THE BLACK CROWES form, turned into a party. These never-before-released until now, live studio recordings feature five songs, including their cover of Ry Cooder's "Boomer's Story". Also included in the super deluxe edition is "Southern Harmony Live", featuring all the tracks off the album, performed live in Houston, Texas on February 6, 1993. This legendary and much-bootlegged show has now been mixed from the 24-track tapes and is available alongside the original album, which has been remastered from the 1/4" production master.

"The Southern Harmony And Musical Companion" is available for pre-order now on stunning 4LP, 3CD, 2 CD, and 1LP formats, which will be released on December 15, 2023. An exclusive, limited-edition "Remedy" lyric t-shirt or trucker hat will also be available as fan packs bundled with the 1LP in THE BLACK CROWES official store. A super deluxe digital audio is also available to preorder.

CD1 - The Southern Harmony & Musical Companion

01. Sting Me
02. Remedy
03. Thorn In My Pride
04. Bad Luck Blue Eyes Goodbye
05. Sometimes Salvation
06. Hotel Illness
07. Black Moon Creeping
08. No Speak No Slave
09. My Morning Song
10. Time Will Tell

CD2 - More Companions: Unreleased, Outtakes And B-Sides

01. 99 Pounds
02. Miserable
03. Rainy Day Women No 12 & 35
04. Boomer's Story
05. Darling Of The Underground Press
06. Sting Me (Slow)
07. Bad Luck Blue Eyes, Goodbye
08. Sometimes Salvation
09. Black Moon Creeping

CD3 - Southern Harmony Live: November 3, 1993 Houston, TX

01. No Speak No Slave
02. Sting Me
04. My Morning Song
05. Jam
06. Thorn In My Pride
07. Bad Luck Blue Eyes Goodbye
08. Black Moon Creeping
09. Hotel Illness
10. Sometimes Salvation
11. Remedy

Upon their arrival on the national music scene in 1990 with "Shake Your Money Maker", THE BLACK CROWES' THE ROLLING STONES-ish/FACES early 1970s throwback sound was far from the pop metal/pre-grunge musical fashion of the day. However, no one could deny the songwriting and authentic rootsy musical craftsmanship of the brothers Chris and Rich Robinson.

Joining Chris and Rich Robinson in the new BLACK CROWES lineup are returning bassist Sven Pipien, who played with the band live from 1997 up until the band's hiatus in 2015, along with Brian Griffin on drums, Joel Robinow on keyboards and Isaiah Mitchell on guitar.

Find more on The black crowes
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).