WEDNESDAY 13 To Release 'Necrophaze' Album In September; 'Decompose' Single Now Available

July 26, 2019

Horror-punk stalwart Wednesday 13 will release his new album, "Necrophaze", on September 27 via Nuclear Blast Records. The disc's first single, "Decompose", can be streamed below.

Commenting on the new song, Wednesday 13 says: "The track 'Decompose' is one of the first songs that was written for the new album, and one of the songs I was most excited about. Our drummer Kyle came up with the music, and once the band all got together, it took on a new life. With the addition of the eerie keyboard/piano pieces added in by Roy Mayorga (STONE SOUR, HELLYEAH),this is another classic WEDNESDAY 13 graveyard sing-along."

Heavily influenced by the real-life night terror occurrences of Wednesday himself, historical serial killers, and a slew of '80s horror films, the ideas behind "Necrophaze" are bizarrely familiar, frightening, and a hell of a lot of fun. Being a collector of both media and toys, WEDNESDAY 13 was inspired by a craving for variety to create dual album artwork for this release (seen below). The covers showcase either end of the horror spectrum with a "Creepshow" comic book vibe for the LP artwork, and the eeriness of something akin to John Carpenter's "The Fog" adorning the CD.

"Necrophaze" was recorded by Michael Spreitzer, who is the producer, recording engineer and longtime guitarist of DEVILDRIVER, and is the first WEDNESDAY 13 record to feature guest spots, which include performances by Alice Cooper, Roy Mayorga of STONE SOUR (who provides an eerie, authentic, '80s-inspired synth soundtrack-score to the album),Alexi Laiho of CHILDREN OF BODOM, and Cristina Scabbia of LACUNA COIL. Also making an appearance on the album is Jeff Clayton, member of legendary punk bands ANTISEEN and GG Allin's MURDER JUNKIES.

"To say we are excited about this release would be an understatement," Wednesday adds. "We have re-built and Frakensteined an all new WEDNESDAY 13. This is the next chapter, the next experience, the next phase into our world... Enter the 'Necrophaze'. This is the most elaborate, horror-themed album I've ever released under the name WEDNESDAY 13. Channeling the atmosphere of early '80s horror films, TV shows, cartoons and movie soundtracks, the 'Necrophaze' was complete. To add a little more blood to the party, we had the complete honor of having the Godfather of shock rock, the legendary Alice Cooper. Alice is a guest doing the introduction to the album and the title track 'Necrophaze'. We wanted to give the listener the ultimate listening experience as if our band was the soundtrack to a horror film. The artwork for the CD and vinyl is a visual guide to the songs, and the live show will be the living breathing horror movie version. There will be a WEDNESDAY 13 action figure, music videos, movie soundtrack trailers, commercials and more all on the way with the release of 'Necrophaze'. The artwork and packaging is a tribute to the classic art and packaging from my favorite time of the 1980s. So welcome to party... but bring your own blood."

"Necrophaze" track listing:

01. Necrophaze
02. Bring Your Own Blood
03. Zodiac
04. Monster
05. Decompose
06. Be Warned
07. The Hearse
08. Tie Me A Noose
09. Life Will Kill Us All
10. Bury The Hatchet
11. Necrophaze Main Theme (End Credits)
12. Animal (Fuck Like A Beast)

WEDNESDAY 13 is currently wrapping up the first leg of its North American tour before heading to Europe and Australia, which will be followed by its return home for shows with DEVILDRIVER, STATIC-X and DOPE.

Find more on Wednesday 13
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email