WEST MEMPHIS THREE Benefit Album: Complete Track Listing Announced

July 24, 2002

SLAYER's Tom Araya, SLIPKNOT's Corey Taylor, MOTÖRHEAD's Lemmy Kilmister and CLUTCH's Neil Fallon are the among the artists confirmed to appear on Rise Above, an album benefiting the convicted killers known as the West Memphis Three.

Due on October 8th through Henry Rollins' 2.13.61 label via Sanctuary Records, the LP was spearheaded by Rollins and will feature guest vocalists singing tunes originally recorded by the hardcore veteran's previous band, BLACK FLAG.

The complete track listing for Rise Above is as follows:

01. Rise Above (feat. PUBLIC ENEMY's Chuck D, Henry Rollins)
02. Nervous Breakdown (feat. THE CIRCLE JERKS' Keith Morris)
03. Fix Me (featuring Iggy Pop)
04. American Waste (feat. CLUTCH's Neil Fallon)
05. I've Had It (feat. THE MARS VOLTA's Cedric Bixler)
06. I've Heard It Before (feat. POISON THE WELL's Jeff Moreira)
07. Room 13 (feat. SLIPKNOT's Corey Taylor)
08. Wasted (feat. X's Exene Cervenka)
09. Jealous Again (feat. QOTSA's Nick Oliveri)
10. TV Party (feat. Henry Rollins)
11. No Values (feat. Hank Williams III)
12. Gimmie Gimmie Gimmie (feat. WEEN's Dean Ween)
13. Depression (feat. AMEN's Casey Chaos)
14. Six Pack (feat. FANTOMAS' Mike Patton)
15. Police Story (feat. Ice T)
16. Revenge (feat. SLAYER's Tom Araya)
17. Thirsty & Miserable (feat. MOTÖRHEAD's Lemmy Kilmister)
18. What I See (feat. BLACK FLAG's Chuck Dukowski)
19. No More (feat. RANCID's Tim Armstrong, Lars Frederiksen)
20. Black Coffee (feat. Henry Rollins)
21. Slip It In (feat. Henry Rollins, THE NYMPHS' Inger Lorre)
22. Annihilate This Week (featuring Henry Rollins, BLACK FLAG's Kira Roessler)
23. My War (featuring Henry Rollins)
24. Nervous Breakdown (featuring WHISKEYTOWN's Ryan Adams)

Proceeds from the album's sales will go toward the legal defense of Damien Echols, Jason Baldwin and Jessie Misskelley — a.k.a. the West Memphis Three — who were convicted of murdering three young boys in West Memphis, Arkansas, in 1993. Baldwin and Misskelly were sentenced to life, while Echols received the death penalty. All three were teenagers when they were tried in 1994.

In a statement, Rollins described how he got the idea for the project.

"I became aware of the case like many people, from watching the Paradise Lost documentaries that HBO released. The first one shocked me and made me upset. The second one made me mad," Rollins explained. "Damien, Jessie, and Jason were found guilty of murdering three boys and sent to prison. I didn't agree with the verdict. I figured that to do nothing about that would be to align myself with the forces of injustice that got them pulled into this horrible situation."

Find more on
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email