WINTERUS To Release 'In Carbon Mysticism' in April

Michigan-based black metallers WINTERUS have set an April 26 release date for their Lifeforce Records debut, "In Carbon Mysticism". According to a press release, the band is hoping the CD "will push the boundaries of black metal further than ever before, by creating a genre-defying psychedelic landscape built upon pummeling metal textures."

"We expect this album to change the way metal is heard from ear to ear," said vocalist, Christopher Erich Neu. "With an honest delivery, including three live tracks, you can feel the passion of ever-maturing musicians that strive for something new and brilliant."

"In Carbon Mysticism" consists of six studio tracks and three live recordings. The record was self-produced and engineered last winter in Battle Creek, Michigan and mastered in Los Angeles by Maor Appelbaum (CYNIC, THERION, HALFORD).

"We wanted a lo-fi, self-produced sound, not polished and strict or hiding behind Pro Tools," added Neu. "Sonically, it's a very honest approach."

Artwork for "In Carbon Mysticism" comes courtesy of Joshua Davis, an artist the band had previously worked with, who was able to help achieve the simplistic and calm atmosphere WINTERUS was looking for.

"From the start, we want people to understand the uniqueness of not having a flashy MySpace layout displaying unnecessary tweets about what a member is eating at what restaurant," says Neu. " As it is almost a necessary handle, in the same sense it feels out of touch."

"In Carbon Mysticism" track listing:

01. Lone Wolves
02. Reborn
03. No Rest
04. Harmonious
05. Moonlust
06. Eternal Ghost
07. Christ Reign (recorded live)
08. Dusk Unveils (recorded live)
09. Through The Mist (recorded live)

WINTERUS originally formed in December 2009 under the name THE ANCIENT, and quickly released an EP, "A Frozen Path", in May 2010, which led to its signing with Lifeforce Records.

"In Carbon Mysticism" sees the band further developing its blackened death metal with a subtle atmospheric edge, drawing influence from such acts as IMMORTAL, ENSLAVED, NAPALM DEATH and NACHTMYSTIUM.

The forthcoming album combines dark and intense atmospheres with unbridled attacks of grim and raw attitude dealing with themes of brutal honesty, isolation, philosophy, and real human emotion.


Christopher Erich Neu - Vocals
Nathan Barnes - Guitar
Dominic Simmons - Guitar
Cody McCoy - Drums


Posted in: News


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).