YES Members Launch New Progressive Rock Band ARC OF LIFE

December 9, 2020

Frontiers Music Srl will release ARC OF LIFE's self-titled debut album on February 12, 2021.

ARC OF LIFE is a new progressive rock supergroup featuring three members of the current YES lineup — vocalist/guitarist Jon Davison, bassist/vocalist Billy Sherwood and additional drummer Jay Schellen — plus Dave Kerzner (SOUND OF CONTACT) on keyboards and Jimmy Haun (also featured on YES albums in the past) on guitar. Fans can get their first taste of the band's forthcoming debut with the new single and video "You Make It Real".

The concept behind ARC OF LIFE is, in keeping with the progressive rock philosophy, to craft creative, challenging, and ear-pleasing music that pushes boundaries.

Sherwood describes the music as "interesting, with well-crafted songs, performed with precision and grace. All songs feature memorable melodies and lyrics that take the listener on a sonic adventure. Dynamic arrangements with peaks and valleys... it's all there."

The other idea behind the band is that YES would be a clear point of influence. But while YES is clearly the main point of comparison, a lot of musical similarities can be drawn to describe ARC OF LIFE's grandiose and epic approach to music.

In Davison's words: "Each YES member understands and supports when others may desire to explore and thrive along new artistic avenues. We then each find further inspiration to bring back to the YES fold."

But all the descriptions are best left to the listeners to discern for themselves as repeat listens will reveal more layers.

ARC OF LIFE is a true garden of delight for progressive rock fans and the band is looking forward to performing live.

"Once the world gets over the COVID hump, ARC OF LIFE will be planning as much touring as we can fit in between YES and our other projects," Davison says. "Quite honestly, we're all chomping at the bit to be out performing again."

"Arc Of Life" track listing:

01. Life Has A Way
02. Talking With Siri
03. You Make It Real
04. Until Further Notice
05. The Magic Of It All
06. Just In Sight
07. I Want To Know You Better
08. Locked Down
09. Therefore We Are
10. The End Game


Billy Sherwood - Bass and vocals
Jon Davison - Vocals
Jay Schellen - Drums
Jimmy Haun - Guitars
Dave Kerzner - Keyboards

Find more on Yes
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).