ZAKK WYLDE Doesn't Rule Out Playing PANTERA Songs With PHILIP ANSELMO During 'Revolver Golden Gods Tour'

February 17, 2014

Joe D, midday host on the 95X radio station in Syracuse, New York and host of metal show "Saturday Night Scream", recently conducted an interview with Zakk Wylde (BLACK LABEL SOCIETY, OZZY OSBOURNE). You can now listen to the chat using the audio player below.

Asked about the possibility of him jamming some PANTERA tunes with former PANTERA singer and current DOWN frontman Philip Anselmo during BLACK LABEL SOCIETY's upcoming Revolver Golden Gods Tour with DOWN, Zakk said: "Me and Phil were speaking on the phone, talking about how excited we are, like a bunch of little schoolgirls. We were both very jovial and excited.

"But no… me and Phil were just talking and said, yeah, maybe we should throw down on something early and legit and something that has some weight. We discussed that.

"Me and Phil were laughing our asses off, talking about the comedy of the music business and everything like that, and what's going on with the bands.

"Whenever I talk to Phil, we're always laughing our balls off; it's always a good time. 'Cause I'm buddies with all the guys in DOWNPhil as well.

"It's definitely gonna be a good time, man."

The new BLACK LABEL SOCIETY studio album, "Catacombs Of The Black Vatican", will be released in Europe on April 7 via Mascot Label Group and one day later in North America through eOne Music.

If you pre-order the CD on iTunes, you will get the new track "My Dying Time" instantly. The song is now available for streaming in the YouTube clip below.

"Catacombs Of The Black Vatican" track listing:

01. Fields Of Unforgiveness
02. My Dying Time
03. Believe
04. Angel Of Mercy
05. Heart Of Darkness
06. Beyond The Down
07. Scars
08. Damn The Flood
09. I've Gone Away
10. Empty Promises
11. Shades Of Gray
12. Dark Side Of The Sun (bonus track)
13. The Nomad (bonus track)

Check out the cover artwork below.

BLACK LABEL SOCIETY recently amicably parted ways with longtime guitarist Nick Catanese and replaced him with Dario Lorina (LIZZY BORDEN).

BLACK LABEL SOCIETY mainman Zakk Wylde recently told Guitar World magazine about Catanese's departure: "I had called Nick to tell him about the album and he told me that he was already knees deep into doing his own thing and wanted to stick 1,000 percent into it. I told him it was cool and that we loved him and that he'd always have a home here."

He continued: "The thing is no one ever gets kicked out or fired. If you want to go, you're always able. Now we've got [guitarist] Dario Lorina in the band, and not only is he a kick-ass guitar player who can shred, but he's also a really cool dude."

Asked how he hooked up with Dario, Zakk said: "We never do a cattle call or anything like that. With the amount of awesome players I know, it's more of a word-of-mouth kind of thing. I had him come out to the Vatican [Zakk's home studio] to meet him, and afterwards I said, 'Cool. If you want to do it, you're in.' It was as simple as that."

Wylde also spoke about what fans can expect to hear on "Catacombs Of The Black Vatican".

"I think everyone can expect a lot of fun and excitement," he laughed. "It was like what Chris Farley did in that one skit, where he was selling that hair-care product. Make sure you always use the word 'fun' when you describe it. [laughs]!

"Someone asked me what the difference was between this new record and the other nine. I told them that it's basically all of the songs we used on the other nine records, except they've got different titles now. [laughs] It's fun and exciting for the whole family!"

"Catacombs of the Black Vatican" is BLACK LABEL SOCIETY's first new studio album since 2009's "The Order Of The Black", which debuted at No. 4 on The Billboard 200 chart.

Interview (audio):


Find more on Philip anselmo
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email