rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Lost Swines
02. Exterminate
03. Double-Feeding
04. Born Stupid
05. Sledgehammer
06. So Fierce For Fuck!?
07. Dis-Appointing
08. Good Times
09. Freedom To Act
10. Indonesia
11. Shitlack
12. Condemnation
13. One Round Away
14. Fuck… I'm Drunk
15. Operation Grindcore
16. Rich (Yeah Yeah Yeahs Cover)
17. Overgrown Asshole
18. Blasphemy My Ass
19. Fix Your Broken Mind
20. Newkiller Nuclear
21. Uncovered And Proud As Fuck
22. Murder
23. Scum Infestation And Last Song

Apeshit freaking nuts these boys in WORMROT are! "Abuse", you say? More like use, abuse, and leave for dead in a Singaporean gutter. Never underestimate the potential for the cleverer grindcore bands to stick to the basics that made the style a beloved one in the first place and still avoid boxing themselves in and losing listener attentiveness as a result.

"Abuse" is that kind of album. It is all guns blazing, savagely crazy grindcore with only the most malicious of intentions; feral as fuck, if you will. Had PHOBIA recorded "Abuse" it might be titled "23 Random Acts of Violence", if you get my drift. With all due support for the furtherance of belligerence in grindcore, "Abuse" sticks and stays like so many nails lodged in the face of the dumb ass who pointed the gun the wrong way. Traditional, shrapnel-blast grindcore is indeed present, but far more prevalent is WORMROT's willingness to include a wider array of spices in the already flaming hot dish, as is done by some of the better Swedish bands (ala INFANTICIDE). As such, the beauty of "Abuse" is that it succeeds not only for its vulgar displays of power, but also for the care taken by the trio to vary the arrangements and, for the most part, keep each track from bleeding into the next without any measure of distinction achieved. It is fast, furious, and grindcore till death, yet the joint jumps with thrash splashes, crust punk, and pure metal groove. Just take "Dis-Appointing", "Good Times", "Freedom to Act", "Fuck…I'm Drunk", "Fix Your Broken Mind", "Murder", and a track that gets my "Song Title of the Month" designation called "Blasphemy My Ass". That attention to detail comes through via witty (i.e. schizoid) vocal changeups to go along with one of the most blood-curdling grindcore shrieks this side of NAPALM DEATH. And a YEAH YEAH YEAHS cover in "Rich"? Well yeah!

And militant? Hell yes, it's militant; at times (and subject to interpretation) even controversially so, as these lyrics from "Overgrown Asshole" illustrate: "Fuck all veterans of war / starters of inhumanity / nothing else but born to kill / risking life abandoned family to death / what an asshole these veterans are". Careful now; you may not be aware of the context. Anyway, move "Abuse" to the top of your "grindcore album want" list. Trust me; you need it.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).