Metal Blade
rating icon 8.5 / 10

Track listing:

1. Parthenogenesis
2. Interphase // Meiosis
3. Extremophiles (B)
4. The Secular Age
5. Exothermic Chemical Combustion
6. Extremophiles (A)
7. Metaphobia
8. Tsunami and Submergence
9. Colors of the Currents
10. Stellar Tidal Disruption
11. Apoptosis

Every discerning metalhead has a handful of favorite bands that never get the recognition that they so clearly deserve. Obviously, this is all entirely subjective, but this writer can't be the only metal fan that doesn't understand why ALLEGAEON aren't absolutely fucking huge at this point. Admittedly, the Colorado five-piece have always been synonymous with mind-bending technical virtuosity, and that's not something that has often wielded much commercial clout. But even taking into account their status as the kind of technically gifted band that other technically gifted musicians admire, ALLEGAEON have been churning out extraordinary, deceptively accessible metal records for a decade, with a sound that is as brutal as anything out there, and yet which brims with refined melodic ideas and moments of wild, progressive invention. They should be massive. People are stupid. Nonetheless, founder and guitarist Greg Burgess has been steadily tinkering with his band's sound since their debut album, 2010's "Fragments of Form and Function", and every successive trip to the studio has borne greater results, peaking with 2016's "Proponent for Sentience"; a staggering sci-fi psycho-drama and one of that year's most cerebral bludgeonings.

Fast forward two years and history is repeating itself: "Apoptosis" is almost comically bombastic and elaborate, the band's individual dexterities colliding to inspire stunning group heroics, as Burgess's gift for an insidious melody reaches a new level of efficacy. Even though it kicks off with a two-minute instrumental that will swiftly reacquaint you with the sheer skill and audacity of these five players, ALLEGAEON's fifth record is righteously song-based throughout. The spirit of late '90s melodic death metal is blazing merrily away in the likes of "Extremophiles (B)" and "Metaphobia", and hooks are always at the forefront, along with sanity-threatening feats of fret wizardry—which provide unstoppable undercurrents—and a precise but three-dimensional production job bringing weight and breadth.

It's no coincidence that ALLEGAEON recorded a cover of RUSH's "Subdivisions" as a bonus track for "Proponent for Sentience". Even though the band's default setting is blistering, high-velocity extreme metal, their melodic and progressive sensibilities are consistently at play, so that even something as superficially vicious and unrelenting as "Exothermic Chemical Combustion" feels fundamentally accessible and rich with detail.

Meanwhile, a moment like acoustic interlude "Colors of the Currents" suggests that Burgess and his colleagues are increasingly comfortable in their collective skin. It's an endearing display of beauty and restraint before the scattershot riff-storms and incendiary choruses of "Stellar Tidal Disruption" and the dimension-wrecking, labyrinthine squall of the title track brings everything to a cataclysmic close.

The kind of band that turn nerds into evangelical zealots, ALLEGAEON have done it again. As ever, "Apoptosis" will have shred-freaks drooling, but it's fans of top-quality extreme metal that have most to gain from this formidable show of strength.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).