eOne Entertainment
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

1. Behold, Malevolence
2. Sleep Is For The Dead
3. He Exists
4. Scars Of The Past
5. Ashamed To Be Human
6. Requiem
7. The Failsafe Fallacy
8. Infernal Suffering
9. Luciferous
10. Nightfallen
11. We Are Immortal
12. There Is No Tomorrow

Assuming you are willing to accept that death metal wasn't frozen in time and impervious to progress after David Vincent left MORBID ANGEL (for the first time) in 1996, these are exceptionally exciting times for fans of skull-cracking brutality. But if there is a persistent problem with the current explosion of ultramodern blasters and grinders, it's that technological innovation has made it far more difficult—or, perhaps, unappealing—for new bands to nurture or establish any kind of distinctive identity, beyond the cookie-cutter requirements of the sonic status quo. But despite all of that, and despite occasionally having been guilty of generic box-ticking themselves, ENTERPRISE EARTH have always stood out as potential world beaters. From the bleak myopia of 2015's "Patient 0" to the more rounded but still unrelenting deathcore assault of 2017's "Embodiment", the Spokane quintet have rarely done anything hugely revolutionary, but they arrive at their third studio album with expectations high and a sense that someone needs to push this thing forward, so it might as well be them.

In fact, you can hear the confidence coursing through ENTERPRISE EARTH throughout "Luciferous". No one that has enjoyed the band's music so far will be remotely disappointed by anything here, because when it comes to groove-driven, blasting death metal with jaw-shattering beatdowns and jarring moments of slow-motion macabre, all requirements have been 100% fulfilled. The difference between this and the vast majority of like-minded 2019 releases is that ENTERPRISE EARTH have obviously thought this thing through as a coherent and fluid artistic statement, rather than the more common 'Here are our next ten songs!' approach. "Luciferous" feels crafted and substantial, with some welcome detours into new territory and even an occasional burst of melody. Both "The Failsafe Fallacy" and "We Are Immortal" hammer home the band's newfound maturity: sharing more DNA with DIMMU BORGIR and THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER than with any deathcore band you might mention. These are epic and explosive hymns to the abyss, not (just) lobotomized rabble-rousers. Jason Suecof's predictably destructive production job simply adds to an overwhelming sense that ENTERPRISE EARTH are mutating before our ears and becoming vastly more interesting than even they were expecting. And yes, you may see a picture of vocalist Dan Watson and wonder exactly how that inhuman noise comes out of someone so tiny, but the fact remains that he is one of the most brutal and versatile frontmen out there, with a tangible presence and personality that gives his band yet another edge over their peers.

The album reaches a formidable crescendo with "There Is No Tomorrow", nine ambitious minutes that somehow seem to encapsulate the best bits of everything else here, but skillfully finished off with a colossal, almost-melodic chorus and a deliciously nasty final beatdown.

The cream often rises to the top anyway, of course, but it never hurts to make an album that makes the majority of your peers look silly. "Luciferous" is exactly that. Your move, deathcore hordes.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).