Ashes To Embers

Century Media
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. The End Result Of Falling...
02. Empty
03. Fly Away
04. Hopeless
05. Down
06. Fear
07. Breath
08. One More
09. Anyone
10. Shelter
11. Last Goodbye

Before you hit "play": if you're not prepared to be in it for the long haul with a band, then an album like "Ashes To Embers" could age you one-hundred years before it tails off at fifty-three minutes or so. But if you are, there are layers and layers of cerebral melody here to be sucked right into your mental vortex

Formed from the, erm, ashes of California's NEUROSIS doppelgangers MINDROT, EYES OF FIRE are, roughly speaking, a fusion of NEUROSIS' synaptic trippiness and ANTHEMA's soul-stirring drone. When these two influences come together in equal measure, you get the kind of captivating quiet-loud tripiness of the sprawling "Breath", or gargantuan closer "Last Goodbye" (what else?) that builds and builds and builds without tipping itself over the edge into angry noise. This kind of reluctance to hit a cacophonous conclusion might well frustrate some listeners who enjoy the noisier side of metal life, but this is part of the essence of a band like EYES OF FIRE — keeping things considered, quiet when necessary, and moody without constantly resorting to letting rip in a blood 'n' thunder fashion.

In keeping with the spaciousness that these kind of soundscapes demand, producer Cameron Webb (GODSMACK, DANZIG) has done a sterling job in giving them room to breathe. The naked acoustic murmur of "Anyone" (which, as mentioned, would probably seem out-of-place if it exploded into a storm of distortion) sits in there nice and sharp, whilst at the other end of the spectrum, "Empty", one of the more conventionally grinding tracks, growls resolutely without obscuring those little harmonic intricacies underneath.

A very rounded and multi-faceted album — could this be yet another turning point for thinking man's extreme metal?

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).