Call to Arms

rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Hammer Of The Gods
02. Back In '79
03. Surviving Against The Odds
04. Mists Of Avalon
05. Call To Arms
06. Chasing The Bullet
07. Afterburner
08. When Doomsday Comes (Hybrid Theory)
09. No Rest For The Wicked
10. Ballad Of The Working Man
11. Call To Arms - Orchestral Version

Digipack bonus feature:

Live At Donington 1980 (remixed and remastered from original multitrack tape)

01. Motorcycle Man
02. Still Fit To Boogie
03. Freeway Mad
04. Backs To The Wall
05. Wheels Of Steel
06. Bap Shu Ap
07. 747 (Strangers In The Night)

Nineteen albums in and SAXON continue to showcase its art of doing no wrong, "Destiny" a possible exception. A comparatively diverse album in 2009's "Into the Labyrinth" was easily one of the band's best in years, but no album in recent memory has been anything close to a disappointment. On "Call to Arms" SAXON takes a more direct approach to songwriting; maintaining a degree of variety within its trademark style parameters, but on the whole ending up a more compact example of melodic and classy traditional heavy metal and hard rock.

The 11 proper digipack cuts work as a representative career sampling in many respects, though more often than not are most representative of the meat and potatoes side of the SAXON sound. The seven-track "Live at Donnington 1980" CD is also included as a high value bonus. A great opener in the memorably riffed and catchy chorused "Hammer of the Gods" is followed by a big guitar, ode to the old days anthem called "Back in '79". Up-tempo tracks "Surviving Against the Odds" and "Afterburner", as well as the AC/DC-esque "Chasing the Bullet" are demonstrative of the band's no-frills heavy metal rock 'n roll delivery. The tough riffing and marching cadence of "No Rest for the Wicked" delivers in similar form. Melodic hard rock territory is entered on "Mists of Avalon", while a title track that is distinctively SAXON in its epic feel (if not length),and the mid-tempo "When Doomsday Comes (Hybrid Theory)" with its mystical shades and a synth solo to boot, feature a different, though comfortably familiar side of the group. The way this album moves offers a freshness and energy about which most bands a 10th SAXON's age could only dream.

Wrap it all up with the THIN LIZZY twin-guitar swing of "Ballad of the Working Man" and a fitting orchestral version of the title track and you end up with another quintessential SAXON release. It is without equivocation that "Call to Arms" is highly recommended for any SAXON fan anywhere in the world. You will not be disappointed.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).