Chaos, Collusion, Carnage & Propaganda

Unique Leader
rating icon 8 / 10

Track listing:

01. Chaos
02. Collusion
03. Carnage
04. Propaganda

Sometimes the only legitimate approach to heavy metal is to get to the fucking point, and quick. EXTINCTION A.D. have already established themselves as among modern thrash metal's sharpest exponents. Both of the Long Island quartet's albums to date have been straightforwardly ripping, with 2018's "Decimation Treaty" standing out as one of the best things the genre has produced this century. But rather than simply jump onto the modern metal treadmill, this band have taken things down a defiantly old-school route in recent times, with low-key releases like last year's covers set "It's About Time That We Had A Change" and single "Undead Residents" heralding the merciless stripping back of any wasteful sonic fat.

One year on, "Chaos, Collusion, Carnage & Propaganda" is another jaw-shattering demonstration of brute force and ruthless brevity. EXTINCTION A.D. have long played this stuff with more precision and venom than most, but this four-track ambush sounds heavier, harder and considerably more intense than previous efforts. 102 seconds long and gloriously snotty, opener "Chaos" is crossover thrash perfection, and the future soundtrack to a thousand flipped tables. "Collusion"EXTINCTION A.D. is streamlined, mid-paced and old school to the bone, with multiple proud SLAYER-isms and enough beatdown heat to scorch the vest off your back. "Carnage" is all-out fucking war, with all the warped aggression of prime DARK ANGEL, shades of blackened frostiness and a vocal from frontman Rick Jimenez that almost certainly caused structural damage to the man's throat. Finally, as if to confirm that they have this brutal metal thing absolutely nailed, EXTINCTION A.D. casually peel off one of the most ferocious SEPULTURA covers of all time. "Propaganda" was always an unqualified rager, and here it slams and grinds with every bit as much imperious fury as the original.

And that's it — 11 minutes, four songs. A jolting dose of thrashed-up hardcore savagery. The sound of a great band sharpening their focus and kicking off like madmen. Point made.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).