Chaos. Order. Renewal

rating icon 7.5 / 10

Track listing:

01. Rise of Sirius
02. The Rivers of Sand and Blood
03. The Omnipotent
04. Pyramid of Mirrors
05. Unity in Darkness (feat. Angel Vivaldi)
06. The Eye of Ra
07. Bringer of Light

These are strange times. That's obvious, I know, but beyond all the craziness going on in 2020, the notion that 24 minutes of music should be regarded as a "full-length album" is currently blowing my mind more than anything else. Even "Reign In Blood" managed to pass the 27-minute mark. Not that there is anything wrong with New Jersey progressive metal crew ETHERIUS's debut record: this is a hugely enjoyable piece of work, dense with memorable melodies and restrained but undeniably virtuoso chops. But it's still a mini-album, at best. An EP, you might say. Let's not change the rules when everything else is in disarray, eh? Consider yourselves chastened.

Anyway, I digress. Apologies to ETHERIUS. Because this really is great stuff: a polished but passionate antidote to a lot of the mindless guitar wank that masquerades as "progressive" in the 21st century. Bereft of vocals, the band's technical abilities are constantly on display, but this is an album of carefully crafted songs with beginnings, middles and ends. Melody is front and center at all times, and even the more adventurous moments exude a simplicity and warmth that you just can't manufacture, particularly when playing as many notes as possible at lightning speed. There are moments of heart-rending yearning ("Unity in Darkness") and flat-out melo-death workouts with an ancient Egyptian vibe ("The Rivers of Sand and Blood" and "The Eyes of Ra"). At times it edges into an almost ALLEGAEON-like state of tech'd out shred-lust, but ETHERIUS never disappear up their own titanium porthole. On the expansive, multi-mood "The Omnipotent", they add a dash of OPETH-like dynamism and it suits them perfectly.

"Chaos. Order. Renewal" is exactly the kind of succinct, punchy and characterful kick up the arse that instrumental metal needs right now. We just need more of it.

Author: Dom Lawson
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • reddit
  • email

Comments Disclaimer And Information

BLABBERMOUTH.NET uses the Facebook Comments plugin to let people comment on content on the site using their Facebook account. The comments reside on Facebook servers and are not stored on BLABBERMOUTH.NET. To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).